Tig welding question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Tig welding question

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 03-17-2014, 08:10 PM   #1
Machinist
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Tig welding question

I am new to tig welding so bear with me,being so new I will need a ton of practice and I know that.What I am wondering is say I make tac welds with a mig can I go through and TIG weld them after or will the area e "contaminated" to much to tig weld it after?

Machinist is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-17-2014, 08:21 PM   #2
meatlord
Animals taste good

2005 TJ Wrangler 

What type of mig? Flux will interfere with your TIG setup. I pretty much TIG everything we do at work. I would go for it and see, personally I prefer the TIG to all other welding processes anyways.
Unread 03-17-2014, 09:01 PM   #3
Machinist
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Miller 211 running mix gas.I will do a few tests tomorrow and post up some pics.Just started tig welding so don't laugh to hard!!lOL
Unread 03-20-2014, 06:23 PM   #4
Kenbo-Slice
1998 TJ Wrangler 

You can tack with a mig and then tig over top of it when you go to finish the weld with no issues. Flux core welding isn't mig welding meatlord. Not trying to be an ***, I just don't want any confusion for the OP.
Kenbo-Slice is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2014, 06:26 PM   #5
meatlord
Animals taste good

2005 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbo-Slice View Post
You can tack with a mig and then tig over top of it when you go to finish the weld with no issues. Flux core welding isn't mig welding meatlord. Not trying to be an ***, I just don't want any confusion for the OP.