tig or mig 4130 - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 10-03-2011, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
jaspepp
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Garage
tig or mig 4130

so i was talking to my contractor the other day about an up coming job welding an item that is 4130 and will be machined to fit a pressed in piece of round stock. the only welding will be around the end where the round is pressed about 1/8-5/32 (havent looked at the specs yet) past the plate. the weld bead cant go over the flat end of the round stock. he wants me to run hard wire, obviously for speed, but i still think i should tig it, maybe walk the cup or something. i've been welding for a few years now and have done primarily 304 stainless and 6061 aluminum, so i'm pretty comfortable with tig. just lookin for any input other welders out there have.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-03-2011, 01:11 PM
YJhobby
1993 YJ Wrangler 

With your tig experience, 4130 will be easy it's not much different than mild steel (if any) process wise. I weld 4130 tube quite often... more than any other I'd say.

I vote TIG. But the best advise is to use what process you're most comfortable with.

~Steve~

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowdogMarc
YJ's don't get stuck....they get temporarily impeeded in their forward progress.

I'm patiently waiting for the "foot-in-mouth" moment to end... but since I've posted, its not today
post #3 of 15 Old 10-03-2011, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
jaspepp
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Garage
i am far more comfortable with tig. it's pretty much the only process i've used in the last 4 months. what filler would i use???? 308??? i know the wire he wants to use is the same one i've used on stailess before

post #4 of 15 Old 10-03-2011, 02:33 PM
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler 

A good read on 4130 and reasons NOT to use stainless fillers by a guy who has wrote articles for AWS.....