Thinking of buying a welder - Page 21 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Thinking of buying a welder

Poison spyder items @ oconee off road 706 534 9955Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineBilstein Shock Upgrade Kits, Jeep JK TJ XJ Wranglers and C

Unread 12-10-2010, 06:50 PM   #301
2000-TJ
2000 TJ Wrangler 

My best advice is to always buy the biggest MIG welder you can afford!!! I've been welding for 10 years now and I know from experiance a welder that is too small for the job will only frustrate you!!

Last edited by 2000-TJ; 12-11-2010 at 03:11 PM..
2000-TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2011, 03:32 PM   #302
HONDOK9
2004 TJ Wrangler 

I haven't seen it listed here but what do you guys think about the Lincoln Weld Pak 100 HD. I runs on 110v and flux core .035 wire on the DC setting. That is what I have right now and it seems to do ok. I'm starting to wonder if I'm getting enough penetration though after reading through this thread and doing some research.
Unread 01-09-2011, 03:11 PM   #303
'92 vegas YJ
R.I.P. Ratmonkey

1992 YJ Wrangler 

i dont think the 100 is enough heat. i have a HH140 and sometimes feel underpowered.

really depends on what you're tring to do.... really thin stuff? yea it'll work. 3/16" or thicker? not a chance

April 2012, May 2013, May 2014 YJ of the month
'92 vegas YJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-28-2011, 10:23 AM   #304
yjcrawlr
1990 YJ Wrangler 

I welded with a weld PAC 100 for ten years. It was a great little welder and with the correct prep it would weld 1/4 just fine. 1/4 is it's limit though.