Thinking of buying a welder - Page 19 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Thinking of buying a welder

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDThe NEW Revolution Gear and Axle from 4LowParts.com

Unread 11-27-2010, 08:45 AM   #271
jeeptrash
2006 LJ Wrangler 

Guess my advice only goes so far since i am new to this as well. I was looking to do similar projects as you. Looked around for a few months locally and found a Hobart 140 a guy was selling at a great price. I picked it up for under $200. I leased a tank from a local welding shop for around $90 for six months got a new 10lb spool of wire for twenty bucks and stared welding. I have not got too serious about my projects yet, i do have most of the steel i need to build a nice small jeep trailer waiting in my garage though. For my uses this machine is powerful enough for what i intend to do.

So everything considered i have spent around $500 and am happy with what i have.

Unread 11-28-2010, 06:13 AM   #272
wushaw
Rockin jeep

2000 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jose_p_adams View Post
I'm planning to buy a MIG welder pretty soon here. My budget should be about $1000 but I don't have to spend that much. I'd like to be able to get the machine, tank and probably a cart on the budget. Plans for use include welding brackets on axles, bumpers, other miscellaneous stuff.

Is it worth the extra cost to buy the 210 amp machine over a 180 amp machine? Worth the extra cost for the Miller?
Yes it is worth the cost to get a 210 amp machine over a 180. I went from a MM175 to a Hobart 230 and it is a whole different machine, It welds better for some reason, so much better than the MM175 did.