Self-taught welder needs guidance - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Self-taught welder needs guidance

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 10-07-2003, 07:31 PM   #1
Benjamin Dover
Crossbones

Self-taught welder needs guidance

Hello.

I have a small mig welder that I am learning to use by practicing. I use flux-cored wire in it because I can't afford to get the hoses and bottles and such yet.

My problem is that I have alot of splatter when I weld on higher heat settings on thicker metals (1/4" thick). Grinding all that splatter off really sucks - especially when I am welding on checker-plate steel.

What should I do to stop the huge amount of splatter????

Unread 10-07-2003, 08:02 PM   #2
dzp

I learned the same way, but flux core wire is messy. There is a spray that will help keep it from sticking to your material. This can be bought pretty cheaply at your local welding shop. Also get a wire wheel (cup style) for your angle grinder. If you get the one with the twisted wire, that will take everything off, the smaller is more for polishing, but will take the bulk of it off.
[URL=http://www.dzpdrafting.com]DZP Drafting & Fabrication[/URL]
[URL=http://www.jeepet.com]Jeeps of East Texas Club[/URL]
[URL=http://www.tkff.com]Tyler Kung Fu & Fitness[/URL]
dzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-08-2003, 09:49 PM   #3
Benjamin Dover
Crossbones

I have a pair of twisted steel wire brushes for my 4.5" grinder. I have a cup style and a disk style one. Using either one of them gets rid of some of the splatter, but not all of it.