Rockers/Corners Material - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Rockers/Corners Material

Savvy FREE SHIPPING!Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%Artec Holiday Sale!

Unread 07-18-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
kuruma
2006 LJ Wrangler 

Rockers/Corners Material

Hello Fabricators,
Just looking for some advice on fabbing up some of the above items. Do most use plate steel to make these or angle iron? I'm new to welding but have a mentor to guide me through the process a bit. Also with this any advantage/disadvantage with using diamond plate versus regular plate? Right now I have the stock rockers that come on an LJ Rubicon and they leave a little to be desired. They seem to be pretty much dress up items. Trying to incorporate some fabbed step bars into this as well, if that would effect anything. I'd be using MIG wire to get all this done. Never done any TIG and I am horrible at stick welding. Doesn't have to be the prettiest thing at prom but it can't be looking like boot camp chow either. Any advice would be great.

kuruma is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-19-2010, 12:05 AM   #2
Joe Dillard
Electric Chair Operator
1991 YJ Wrangler 

I have used angle iron, and plate steel.

This set, I made ~2 weeks ago for a friends TJ. They are 3/16" plate that I had bent in a press brake, and the tubes are bent to 45*.

The bottom has an integrated drop step that contours the tub for the TJ.

Joe Dillard is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-19-2010, 12:50 AM   #3
kuruma
2006 LJ Wrangler 

Thanks Joe,