Preparing mig wire for next weld - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Preparing mig wire for next weld

WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread Today, 11:06 AM   #1
Splinter
1980 CJ5 

Preparing mig wire for next weld

I am a newbie on mig welding. Acquired a mig set up for 30 flux core. I cannot seem to get a decent job so i am changing to 23 and gas. I have been watching everything available on u-tube. I notice that when i finish a weld with flux core there is no little ball buildup at the end of the wire. Watching utube using solid wire there is a little ball built up on the wire after a weld. Several people demonstrating mig say to remove this ball before going on to the the next weld. What a hassle, tack, snip, tack, snip, etc. Any comments?

Splinter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread Today, 12:20 PM   #2
jason m

Your trying to energize a ball of metal twice some times three times ( maybe even bigger ) the size of the might wire its self, with the same current you would use to melt the wire under normal circumstances. That's why most if not all the times this ball is not removed your gun will push away before the arc is struck.
Yes it will probably strike a arc enough to start a weld but it will be a more than normal "cold start", remember one of the weakest parts of a weld is the start. As the energy to melt your filler is not there till the base metals heat up for a good fusion.

Clipping the end each times is what I was taught or with 7018 tap or scrape the end of the wire on concrete, but most of the time I would insert another rod into my stinger.

Jason.