The official : "Show off your welds thread" . - Page 14 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > The official : "Show off your welds thread" .

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitBrand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 05-02-2011, 04:05 PM   #196
Kenbo-Slice
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Depending on the space at hand and what else may be in the shop, spatter and slag can easily roll under objects catch something and smolder. Unsuspecting, one may leave the shop after doing some work only to return in the morning to a pile of ash and rubbish. Thankfully this has not happened to me, but being a firefighter, I have seen a few burners or near-misses from the use of a torch inside. Granted with proper precautions it isn't much of a worry but I would just rather do my cutting outdoors if it's going to be a substantial amount. I know many of us at one time or another are guilty of having gas cans or oily rags in the shop out in the open. I have used a torch in he shop on before, I just make sure it isn't at the end of my time there or for any lengthy period. Personal preference really. Kind of like a flex torch or rigid on a TIG haha, it's all in what the user is most comfortable with.

Kenbo-Slice is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2011, 05:48 PM   #197
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenbo-Slice View Post