New to fabrication - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > New to fabrication

ANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete Cess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD15 x 8 Black D-Window Steel Wheels Set of 4

Unread 08-15-2013, 06:20 AM   #1
RagTagSoldier
1996 ZJ 

New to fabrication

Hello all, I am new to fabrication and am currently learning to weld from my finances father. I want to work with tube and attempt to fab up my own tube bumper with a prerunner. My question is would a the 12 ton hydraulic pipe bender and tubing notcher from harbor freight work for me. The only bend I would need to make over 90 degrees is the stinger/prerunner. Everything else is 90 and under. I plan on using 1 3/4 inch tube, what size welder would I need? Would a 70 amp arc welder be okay? I plan on getting the welder from HF aswell as I'm not going to be doing this all of the time just the occasional thing now and then. What is the heaviest material I could use a 70amp arc welder on?

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum so it probably looks goofy.

RagTagSoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-15-2013, 06:37 AM   #2
Helldorado Customs
Addicted...

2007 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagTagSoldier View Post