mig wire binding up AFTER drive roller? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > mig wire binding up AFTER drive roller?

Introducing MONSTALINERô UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSteering and more from Ruffstuff!Even Better Heim Pricing! From Ruffstuff

Unread 10-07-2013, 05:15 PM   #1
danielbuck
2006 TJ Wrangler 

mig wire binding up AFTER drive roller?

I've got a Lincoln 180 Dual, which has always worked flawless for me (I've had it for probably over a year now).

Recently I've been using a 5 pounds spool of .024 wire for some thinner gauge stuff, mostly 1/16" and 1/8", I've been using the large spool of wire for a few months now, on and off.

Last night as I was working, it binded up on me twice in the span of about 15 minutes. The wire gets bent and folded over itself right after the drive roller as it enters the sleeve of the gun. I undo the tension wheel, and open up the plate with two screws to see the drive mechanism, and I see the wire bundled up in there AFTER the drive wheel. So something blocks the wire, and the drive wheel just keeps feeding the wire and it piles up on itself.

So, I'm pretty sure the drive wheel and tension wheel are ok because the binding is after that, and I'm pretty sure it's not the tip on the end of the gun, since the binding is happening right before it enters the sleeve, and when I clip the wire, it easily pulls through the tip. But I will replace the tip anyway, just to make sure.

On the spool of wire and all the internal mechanisms, there's no sign of grit, corrosion, kinks, bends or anything. It all looks very clean and straight.