MIG ? regarding varying material thicknesses - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > MIG ? regarding varying material thicknesses

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 05-30-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
CJinDNA
1979 CJ7 

MIG ? regarding varying material thicknesses

I am just getting started with MIG welding and have recently reached a point of understanding the mechanics. I have what is likely a very noob question regarding heat/speed setup when welding material which has mixed thicknesses.

As an example, if I were looking to weld axle perches to an axle tube in which the perch is 0.1875 and the axle tube is 0.25 would you set the MIG up for the thicker material and risk burning through the thinner material or is a heat range set up for the thinner material going to provide the necessary penetration for the thicker material?

CJinDNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-30-2012, 10:38 PM   #2
RenoF250
1985 CJ7 

I am no expert but I set it towards the thicker material and then spend more time on the thicker side to keep from burning through.
RenoF250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-31-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
ArticRubi
Arrogant SOB

2008 JK Wrangler 

X2. Set up for thicker and make your stroke a bit quicker over the thinner piece. I practiced by getting some scrap metal of different thicknesses and used different joint types between the two (lap, butt, T, ect)

Build Thread

Need parts? Need product advice? Contact Jason at Krawl Off-Road
ArticRubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-31-2012, 07:28 PM   #4
CJinDNA
1979 CJ7