Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Looking for a welder in the Atlanta, GA area for small task ...

1K views 19 replies 9 participants last post by  verteggio 
#1 ·
Based on a suggestion in the TJ technical forum, I'm wondering if there are any welders from here or that could be recommended in the Atlanta, GA area for a small job?

Basically, I have stripped out the fill bolt on a AX-15 transmission. I'm trying to find a way to get it out so I can do a transmission fluid change.

Jerry B. gave the idea of tack welding a slightly smaller nut onto the fill nut to spin it out. This seams like the next logical route to follow, so is there anyone that might be able to help me out with this as I have no welding experience? I have no problems driving to your location.

THanks!

#7 ·
No room to get a drill in there... I'm hoping to do this without removing the transmission (which would be more of a headache).

The front driveshaft is about 2 inchess from it, and there's some plastic thing that attaches to the bellhousing right above it - Afraid heat would melt it.

About 5-6 inches from the nut is the body... even with a right-angle drill I wouldn't be able to get it in there :(

#9 ·
Thanks Island4x4, I really do appreciate it. Just frustrated and at this point there's not much more that I can think of except welding the nut and using the nut to loosen it, or having the dealer get it out (said it would take an hour or two -- which would end up costing about $150 or more!)

Any welders out in my area that think they could help me out with welding a nut to it?

#10 ·
I am not familiar with the plug/nut in question. I bet it's a large allen wrench type though isn't it? If it is you could JB Weld a nut that would fit snug in there. Let the JB cure 24 hrs and then stick a wrench on it and see if it comes loose. I have done this myself a number of times on stuff that welding would not be possible on.

#11 ·