I want to weld! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > I want to weld!

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 09-24-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
vinny147
1992 YJ Wrangler 

I want to weld!

I have no experience welding but I really would like to learn how to. Ive done some looking around for a welder and my research as told me a MIG welder would be the best for a beginner. Does that sounds right to you guys? As how power of the MIG I am not sure...
Any recommendations are highly appreciated!

vinny147 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-24-2012, 09:08 PM   #2
angelsfanbp
2005 TJ Wrangler 

It all depends on what your welding. I'm in no way a pro but know enough to get by. Harbor Freight has some cheap welders that you can learn with and build your own brackets etc. I have welding a good utility trailer with a $89 Harbor Freight 110v welder and the trailer is a beast! It has been on several off roading trips. Do your homework and get one for your needs.
angelsfanbp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-24-2012, 10:13 PM   #3
vinny147
1992 YJ Wrangler 

I will be doing nothing major. I want to learn with this and learn to do some body work etc..
Unread 09-24-2012, 10:35 PM   #4
sailsurf7713
1999 TJ Wrangler 

220 V 180 - 210 amp should do just about anything you can think of on a jeep. Anything Lincoln, Miller, or Hobart are safe bets.

For body work, a 110 unit will work, but they're less efficient and if you choose to do more, it is limited.

Have a Lincoln 180T right now and can't say enough good things about it. It has already payed for itself about four times over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97flexy View Post