Help with Tunnel Mod for larger Transfer Case - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Help with Tunnel Mod for larger Transfer Case

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Looking to re-gear?! CRAZY DEALS ON YUKON GEARS right here

Unread 01-13-2014, 09:24 AM   #1
StanF
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Help with Tunnel Mod for larger Transfer Case

Background
I've got a larger TJ Rubicon 4:1 transfer case that I'm going to stick into my YJ very soon - like next weekend. It will require tunnel mods, which I've never done before. I'm looking for some help!

My old AX5/NP231 is out of the Jeep. And I'm sticking in an AX15/Rubicon case using an Advanced Adapters Kit and an AX5 bell housing.

Rubicon NV241OR Transfer Case:

I currently have a full flat tummy tuck, and would like to keep my skid plate as high as possible. Existing with NP231:

I'm pretty certain that I won't be able to keep my skid plate flat with the frame rails with the Rubicon Tcase, but I also don't want to go back to a 3" drop. Existing with NP231:

Problem
The front input of the Rubicon Tcase is about 1.5" taller than the NP231:

I am willing to cut the tub to get clearance, but that area of the tub is not easy to modify. There's a crossmember running right in that area that supports the tub/tunnel/front seat bolts.

Here's a shot with that crossmember sketched in:

And you can see it here (this is just a picture I found on the web):

I'm willing Cutting the tub for more clearance, but removing the middle section of that crossmember around the tunnel seems like a bad idea.

I'd like to keep the tunnel as "stock" as possible. I want to keep the fab to a minimum, while doing it right and strong.

Ideas