Floor panel - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Floor panel

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 12-24-2013, 07:09 PM   #1
Zyurazek

1995 YJ Wrangler 

Floor panel

Today I lifted up my carpet in the YJ and found a large area of rust in the driver side front floor panel. Would anyone be able to tell me how difficult it is to put in a new floor panel? What kind of welder I could use? I have never done any sort of welding before, but I am handy when it comes to making cuts and I learn quickly. Any pointers? I will try to upload a picture of the area.

image-2348865549.jpg

image-1092976148.jpg

Zyurazek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-25-2013, 03:23 AM   #2
AGDubyaJ
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Thats a pretty major welding project to take on with limited experience. Your gonna need a small MIG welder or oxy-acetylene rig to weld it up- $$$, not to mention, welding RUSTED thin gauge steel is not easy, even for lots of experienced welders/fabricators. you could always just get some thin gauge steel or aluminum, cut to shape, rivet in, and seal with silicon or the likes. Would probably be easier and more cost effective... Not saying you shouldnt learn to weld, a decent 110V mig welder can be had for around $400... and thats going to limit you to 1/4" material. On top of the welder, your still gonna need a helmet, gloves, angle grinder and wheels, welding wire, gas, and consumables... definitely not a cheap hobby to get into.
Unread 12-25-2013, 07:17 AM   #3
Ironworker709

1995 YJ Wrangler