Crossmember Drop / Reinforce - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Crossmember Drop / Reinforce

Paracord grab handles, door limiting, etc at JeepHut.comRough Country Deals at JeepHut.comNew! JK/U skid plate system.

Unread 05-03-2015, 09:11 PM   #1
McColorado
1997 ZJ 

Crossmember Drop / Reinforce

I just installed a 3.5" lift kit on my 94 Zj, and in the process of attempting to install the t-case drop, I have broken a cross member bolt, and one other just spins. Now, I could go and tear apart the interior in an attempt to gain access to these bolts, however, I have some experience welding, and have some scrap metal to work with. Here is my thought: use a 1" steel tube and some 3/16" plate to make myself a t-case drop bracket. I would weld and bolt the bracket to the frame, and bolt the cross member to the bracket using grade 8 hardware. All the joints between bracket and frame would be welded together. Here is my general idea:

So my question is: would this work? I'm just trying to find a way around the weak bolts, and thought this could be an effective solution. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

The Jeep in question:

Unread 05-08-2015, 03:52 AM   #2
bdmead01
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Your design seems solid, but I think the problem is with the crappy nutserts. You would think Jeep would have changed their design by now...
Unread 05-08-2015, 07:03 PM   #3
underpowered
Bouncin' on a Budget

1998 ZJ 

to keep from crushing the uniframe and properly torque the bolts that appear as if they would go all the way through it, a small tube should be welded in place through the frame before the bolt is put through it.

2000 powerjoke tow pig

Anti-jeep--1989 K5 blazer. the new off road ride