Chop Saw/Sawzall Cutting metal - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Chop Saw/Sawzall Cutting metal

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!!

Unread 03-17-2011, 09:07 AM   #1
Apollo21
2002 WJ 

Chop Saw/Sawzall Cutting metal

Hi,

I'm new to the welding side since i normally hang out in WJ tech and GC GD. But I've been learning how to weld recently. I took up stick welding on the ship at night while out at sea for the past 4 months. I had a friend teach me and give me pointers. It got to be ok at it. Now that i'm back i'm buying a Mig welder. I don't want to go above 110v yet. So i was looking at 140 machines. Loved the miller but to $$$ for me right now at this stage i can't justify it. I loved at the Hobart 140 and the Lincoln 140 (wanted to stay big 3). I recently found a brand new still sealed in the box Lincoln 140HD (the kind from Home Depot) for $350. I'm picking it up on Monday.
My Father has a bunch of tools but he has always been more of a car (BMW 2002s) and wood working guy so we have no metal working equipment. In the next couple years i plan on practicing my welds ALOT then building rear tire carrier, sliders, and maybe a front bumper. I need a way to cut the metal. Based from my time on the ship i know i need an angle grinder. I found one nearby a refurbished DeWalt 4.5 for $40 that i'll get. I understand it can be used to cut metal but my dad has some old (maybe 10 years) Craftsman Sawzall and Chop saw. Can i just switch the blades and use those for metal cutting and save the grinder for grinding?

Thanks