Building a Sierra rack - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Building a Sierra rack

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 10-31-2010, 07:51 PM   #1
tjwillis
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Building a Sierra rack

I am building a rack similar to the olympic sierra rack. I am by no means a fabricator but what follows is my DIY project. I want a rack to carry a cooler and free up space in the jeep. I was looking at the OLympic Sierra rack and thought I could make one myself. I want something that is easy to install and remove, also the rack can't interfere with the opening of the tail gate. This is my first build thread so if I miss something or if anyone wants me to go into more detail let me know.

First thing I did was remove the spare tire and mark the lug pattern on a piece of cardboard.

I layed out my pattern on a piece of 1/4" plate the same size as my spare tire mount.

Unread 10-31-2010, 07:58 PM   #2
tjwillis
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I marked and drilled my holes.

And installed the plate and the spare tire so I could mark the center of the tire.

I bought a 2"x1 1/4" hitch adapter from Harbor Freight which will be used as the mounting point for my rack. This will allow me to easily install and remove the rack. I didn't like how far the reciever stuck out so I cut about half of it off.
Unread 10-31-2010, 08:04 PM   #3
tjwillis
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I wielded the cut adapter to the plate.

And here it is with the spare tire.