Any welding tips for a total newbie? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Any welding tips for a total newbie?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 02-03-2011, 01:31 PM   #1
TheNewbie
1995 YJ Wrangler 

Any welding tips for a total newbie?

I have a cheap crappy Harbor Freight flux core welder. I've screwed around a little bit just to get a feel for it before doing my tube fenders. But some actual expert advice would be appreciated.

It only has 2 settings... high and low. And I'll be welding thin metal to 1 1/2" .120 tube.

My build thread...
I've got a shotgun, a rifle and a four wheel drive...
TheNewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2011, 01:55 PM   #2
CJ7-Tim
Real Jeeps have dents.

2000 XJ Cherokee 

I bought a Welding textbook from the local Vo-Tech. Try on-line for a used textbook. Miller, Lincoln or Hobart has some short videos and FAQ's for welding on their website.

Practice, practice, practice. Cut apart your practice and see if you have good penetration.

Welding sheet metal, you have to use short 1/2- 1" stitch welds to prevent warping the sheet metal.

Beter quality welders are easier to use and make better welds.

According to the National Shooting Sports Foundation, AR-15 sporting rifles account for nearly 20% of all U.S. firearms sales.

Progressive Liberalism: Bringing you new Healthcare ideas so wonderful, they have to include mandatory participation ......

Originally Posted by Ronald W. Reagan: Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem.
CJ7-Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2011, 01:56 PM   #3
MONSooNmonkey