Another TJ Bumper Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Fabrication Shop > Another TJ Bumper Build

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 03-01-2007, 06:52 AM   #1
RubiconTed

Another TJ Bumper Build

Hey Guys,

As you can see from my post count, I'm a newbie here. I have begun the fab of my front and rear bumpers for my 06 Rubicon. After searching the threads I have decided to go with something similar to Besrk's design. As a matter of economics, I will be purchasing the prefabbed shakle points and hinge assembly. I will also be tacking the structural joints in place and then taking everything to get welded by a pro. In the rear I will be incorporating the standard receiver tube and shackle mounts. The tire carrier will have an adjustable tire mounting plate, CB antenna mount, Hi-Lift mount, accessory mounting point and a pin to lock the carrier in the open position.

Here's the initial bill of materials for the metal only:

4x2x3/16"x20' $70.00
2x2x3/16"x20' $48.00
3/8"x3"x20' $35.64
3/16"x2"x20' 15.08

Tax 13.93

total 182.65

thats enough to make four bumpers . plus they cut it in 10' sections for no charge.

I'm guessing I'll have about $250 tied up in the total cost for front and rear together

Last edited by RubiconTed; 03-01-2007 at 08:15 AM..
RubiconTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-2007, 08:05 AM   #2
BESRK
GROUND POUNDER

1980 CJ5 

You guys with your super cheap metal prices... you make me sick!

Ground Pounder Fab

Lower 2

Guardrail

Down Schoolbus

Slickrock Tellico

Save

Crozet

More Crozet
BESRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-2007, 08:09 AM   #3
RubiconTed

At these prices, one could almost make a living at it.