JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Fabrication Shop (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f37/)
-   -   Adding a CNC router / mill to the shop project (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f37/adding-cnc-router-mill-shop-project-1571114/)

rescueweasel 09-04-2013 01:13 AM

Adding a CNC router / mill to the shop project

3 Attachment(s)
I have a metal fabrication business and have been wanting to get a CNC router / Mill for a long time. I have been doing research for a few months and spent sometime at a few trade shows looking everything over. I have a lot to learn when it comes to routers and mills, just a little different from plasma.

I decided to start out with a small bench top system and build it up as sort of a DIY project and see how it works and maybe expand to a larger table down the road.

My goal is to make this a multi-purpose machine if I can. I want to be able to make signs out of wood and plexi, machine parts out of aluminum, cut sheet goods like vinyl and cardboard for prototypes, and if I can attach an extruder and make a 3d printer out of the same machine....

So here goes I have been buying components as time and money allows and finally have enough to get started. I though I would post the build here and hopefully get some good advice along the way and share my trials and tribulations as I go.

So day one got the table from Precision Plasma assembled it and attached the Porter cable 7310 router. I'm waiting on my steppers and controller which I hope will be delivered soon.

Jim1611 09-04-2013 01:20 PM

When cutting aluminum, especially at high spindle speeds, it pays to get the chips away from the cutter. My machine has flood coolant. I'm not sure that's work for you though. Have you given any thoughts to this?

rescueweasel 09-04-2013 01:35 PM