10'x12' Shed/Workshop - Page 2 - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 19 Old 07-28-2013, 10:04 AM
Registered User
1985 CJ7 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Foresthill
Posts: 2,629
Spend a little more and run some 4 conductor 10 gauge so you can have 230V and 30A. I built a 12x12 that is sheetrocked with linoleum floor for my reloading room and storage area. With the added power I have no problem running heaters, A/C, and a small compressor. More power is never a bad thing.

RenoF250 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #17 of 19 Old 07-29-2013, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South East
Posts: 75
Originally Posted by MartyA View Post
Even with a 20 amp circuit I'd guess that lights plus power tool(s) plus compressor kicking on is going to pop a breaker. I've never heard of the multiwire drop but it sounds like a great idea. You learn something every day...

Also, if you can't do a slab or permanent footings you could consider building on a prepared surface. Dig holes as deep as a footing and fill with tamped gravel/rock. Basically you want it to drain so you don't get frost heave. Then spread landscape fabric and more gravel over the full area, then build on blocks/pads. You need to tie the structure down to augured in anchors (like used for mobile homes) or something you bury when you dig the footings.

I'm not saying this is the best option but it can work if you can't place permanent footings. FYI, you should confirm that with the easement - can you put in permanent footings in your easement?

Anyway, good luck! Sounds like you've gotten some great advice, and I'd say Indy's shed looks GREAT.
I wish I could pour a slab, but given the grade of the hill I'm building on, it isn't feasible. I'm just going to use 3 concrete/sono tubes as footings.

Would you recommend digging the hole for my footing bigger than the sono tube, then using gravel to fill it back in, as opposed to dirt? Will this help with frost heave or is it overkill?

Not sure what you are saying about easement? As in- the ability to use someone else's land? My family owns all the land around this shed.
drewabril is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 07-29-2013, 05:57 PM
King of Macastan
schitzangiggles's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Rigby, Idaho
Posts: 6,172
There are setback (from the property line) requirements in nearly every location, out here it is 10ft. An Easement is for like a powerline, utility lines, sewer etc. it is basically your property, but for the greater good, you give them rights to bury them or put in power poles etc.

"Axeheads are supposed to be sharp, but you are one blunt tool."

If you love wealth more than liberty,the tranquility of servitude more than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We seek not your counsel nor your arms. Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds you. May your chains sit lightly on your shoulders and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.
-Samual Adams

A government big enough to give you everything you want is big enough to take everything you have.
Thomas Jefferson

Calling Illegal Aliens "Undocumented Immigrants" is like calling drug dealers "Unlicensed Pharmacists"

Nemo Me Impune Lacessit
"No one provokes (attacks) me with impunity".

"Your right, the Tea Party and the OWS are the same, just like the America Revolution and the French Revolution were the same. The only problem is the American Revolution ended with Liberty, Freedom, Justice for all and a shining light upon a hill. The French Revolution ended with lynchings, guillotines, murder and socialism. So yeah, I could see how one could confuse the two..."

Mac Wilson
schitzangiggles is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 07-30-2013, 09:20 AM
Registered User
2012 WK 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 90
Backfilling your footing holes with gravel instead of dirt is a good idea. You should still not dig it oversize so you shouldn't need much. Whatever you use do try to tamp down your backfill somewhat as it goes back in.

And full disclosure, I'm not a contractor that does this for a living so I'm happy to be corrected if necessary.

And +1 on the 230 amp circuit. The incremental cost would be small and it would remove any concerns about power. If you aren't planning on doing significant work out there it's probably overkill but the startup load of an electric motor can be quite large.
MartyA is offline  

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome