What's the pros/cons of putting a later model I4 in a YJ? want MPG - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Advanced Jeep Tech > What's the pros/cons of putting a later model I4 in a YJ? want MPG

Jeep Liberty Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontSAVE BIG: Christmas in July Sale!Jeep Liberty Window Regulator

Unread 03-14-2013, 04:53 PM   #1
nightwrencher
1995 YJ Wrangler 

What's the pros/cons of putting a later model I4 in a YJ? want MPG

Hello, I am new to jeeps. I used to build GM musclcars and liked to cram big V8's where they don't belong. I guess I'm getting old, I have a YJ I4 w/ a million miles, and I am contemplating a later model I4 drivetrain. I don't necessarily need more power, but I am looking for some decent mileage if possible (w/o sacrificing the off-road gearing). I plan on using this for trail riding mainly, but I don't want it to cost an arm and a leg to get there. I don't know anything about the chrysler family of engines and drivetrain interchangeability between models, so can someone give me the basics. I understand I need to carry over PCM and make some adaptions, but but what drops in without major surgery and I can source from a junkyard donor? I don't need a 6 and if I can connect it to my AX5 that would be even better since it's rebuilt.

nightwrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2013, 09:09 PM   #2
ratmonkey
R.I.P.

1997 ZJ 

You'd find better economy in a v8 fuel injected motor swap since it would be the same amount of work.
The 2.4 isn't any better than the 2.5 for economy and power and it doesn't mate to the ax-5, almost nothing other than the 2.5 does.

Most do indeed get much better economy from v8's than the stock jeep offerings.

Otherwise, just throw in a reman 2.5.