Aftermarket gauges. - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Advanced Jeep Tech > Aftermarket gauges.

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits BLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Reply
Unread 03-05-2013, 03:47 PM   #1
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
Aftermarket gauges.

I'm interested in running all aftermarket gauges but I want to use all of the factory sending units if possible... has anyone done this and if so what do I need to look out for?

Thanks!

__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2013, 08:39 PM   #2
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,598
If you're going through the trouble to deal with new gauges, swapping sending units is no big deal. You still use the stock wiring. Some gauges may work anyway with stock senders. I went full Autometer.
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2013, 10:37 PM   #3
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeeperDon View Post
If you're going through the trouble to deal with new gauges, swapping sending units is no big deal. You still use the stock wiring. Some gauges may work anyway with stock senders. I went full Autometer.
I'm trying to go as cheaply as possible, hence the reason I would like to reuse the stock sending units if possible. How many gauges did you have to replace the stock sending unit with an aftermarket one when you did yours?
__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 07:46 AM   #4
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Necromancer_tat View Post
I'm trying to go as cheaply as possible, hence the reason I would like to reuse the stock sending units if possible. How many gauges did you have to replace the stock sending unit with an aftermarket one when you did yours?
Sending usually units come with gauges, since the gauge mfg can't predict what sender you may already have, have that not work well, then you call back complaining they sold you crap. Aftermarket gauges are also sold to race cars and such that don't have OEM senders. It's just easier all around to include senders, which are cheap anyway.

You have a well build Jeep, seems silly to sweat an extra $30 maybe on a $400 project after all you already bought for the Jeep.

Thats all I got, good luck with the project.
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 08:24 AM   #5
brownbagg
Registered User
1930 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: pearl, la
Posts: 2,458
Mechanical aftermarket gauges would not have sending units
brownbagg is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 03:51 PM   #6
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
I'm wondering if I start removing the factory sending units to replace them with aftermarket sending units for aftermarket gauges, will that affect anything with the factory computer and the tune of the fuel injection system or anything like that?

Right now my Jeep doesn't have any gauges in it at all. The factory gagues were removed by the previous owner.

What I want to do is monitor the coolant temp, the oil pressure, how much gas I have, and the charging system. I'm not really worried about the rpms or the speedometer at this time.
__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 05:59 PM   #7
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,598
The only gauge type parameter the computer cares about is water temp, and in most engines there are two of those senders, one for the PCM and another for the dash.
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 06:08 PM   #8
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
Cool deal. So if I place an order for Autometer coolant temp, oil pressure, voltage, and gas gauges, I should be ok? I'm curious about the gas guage... does that feed off the factory sending unit, and if not what is involved in setting up the aftermarket sending unit?
__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 06:42 PM   #9
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,598
Fuel gauges come in different ohm ranges for full to empty. You use your sender and buy a gauge that has the appropriate ohm range. Autometer does have an optional fuel sender for one ohm range, just a sender, no associated pump assembly (not bad price, less than $20 I think). Easiest is just know your ohm range.
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2013, 06:47 PM   #10
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeeperDon View Post
Fuel gauges come in different ohm ranges for full to empty. You use your sender and buy a gauge that has the appropriate ohm range. Autometer does have an optional fuel sender for one ohm range, just a sender, no associated pump assembly (not bad price, less than $20 I think). Easiest is just know your ohm range.
That's where I get confused... I have an aftermarket Genright tank for a streched wheelbase... If it's using the factory pump and fittings etc. should the factory sending unit be used with an aftermarket gauge or should an aftermarket sending unit be used?
__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-09-2013, 09:20 PM   #11
theGiantPanda
Swap This...
 
theGiantPanda's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,550
use the factory sending unit as you already have it. you just need to make sure your aftermarket fuel level gauge is a '0-90 ohm fuel level gauge' to work with your stock sender... you will have to bring the signal line into the tub and up to the cluster. the factory signal line can be found in the plugs at the center of the fire wall above the motor. verify color... i think green/light green, but verify your with model year. i dont have my notebook/fsm at work LOL
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCJ View Post
Jesus. This is what heaven on 4 wheels looks like.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon View Post
Hospital? What, are you suffering from Overextended Jeepaphelia or something? :)
I've never been poor, only broke. Poor is a state of mind. Broke is a condition brought on by Jeep ownership and a heavy right foot.

2006 Unlimited Redicon Panda Edition
RRI Long Arm...14" Fox CO's Front and Rear...D60 KP Front and D60 FF Rear... 5.38s spooled...40" Maxxis Trepadors...
6.1 HEMI...Atlas 5.1

5.7 HEMI 400 hp TJ Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/ye...17/?highlight=
6.1 HEMI Ultimate LJ Rubicon Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/6-...ayhem-1013800/
2.5 to 4.0L swap and build up http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/he.../#post14946167
4.0 to 2008 5.3L GM LS in the Taco'd TJ [frame off build].....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/5-...28/?highlight=
My new DD Build, lift, 4.0 motor swap, done in 6 days?....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/6.../#post15716292

the new shop... http://redrockwiring.com/ conversion, parts and wiring systems
shop email.... info@redrockindustries.net
LIKE US on facebook..... https://www.facebook.com/redrockindustriesinc adding more daily
redrockindustries.net
theGiantPanda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2013, 01:02 AM   #12
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeeperDon View Post
The only gauge type parameter the computer cares about is water temp, and in most engines there are two of those senders, one for the PCM and another for the dash.
I think you meant to say "out of those listed" to start that off.
The tj only has one temperature sensor. It sends data to the computer and then the computer sends that over the data bus to the gauge cluster. Along with all the other sensor data.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2013, 10:12 AM   #13
JeeperDon
Patience, Grasshopper
 
JeeperDon's Avatar
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 6,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratmonkey View Post
The tj only has one temperature sensor. It sends data to the computer and then the computer sends that over the data bus to the gauge cluster. Along with all the other sensor data.
True, I forgot that a TJ has all that new fangled car crap in the dashboard. I should rescind my above replies as I didn't notice the TJ part. I have no idea what Autometer (the gauges I use) has for 'can bus' systems.
__________________
'93 YJ, '02 GM 4.3 Vortec V6, SOA, dual ARB's, 8.8+D30(w/WarnHubs), 4.88 gears, 35" BFG KM2's, AX15, 15x7 wheels, NP231+4:1+SYE+2LO, York OBA, Warn M8000, no top or doors Apr-Oct.
Member and Web guy: New Mexico 4 Wheelers My Truck Page on NM4W Site
JeeperDon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2013, 05:22 PM   #14
theGiantPanda
Swap This...
 
theGiantPanda's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,550
sorry at work and not sure what motor is in your jeep? if its still the 4.0 why not just use a factory cluster set up for the ECU you have..$100 and done. autometers are going to be atleast $240 for oil/fuel/temp/volt plus the tach $130 .. all new pricing of course.. but then you have to deal with secondary sensors. if you have a motor swap that utilizes can bus, autometer has nothing yet. sorry at work and cant devote the time to read your builds right now.

speedhut does have can bus gauges and run approx $88 a guage for 2 1/16 gauges. 3 3/8 speedo and tach are more $$ obviously...
  • CHEVY series CAN BUS can run fuel/oil/temp/volt/speedo and tach for sure
  • dodge/chrysler series CAN BUS can run fuel/temp/volt/speedo/tach. no oil pressure yet. they dont have the parameter codes yet.
just order a speedhut gauge set for my 2010 VVT hemi swap into a TJ. about $100 more than the same in an autometer set up but its 2 wire hook up for my application. no other sensors.... [except oil pressure-thanks chrysler.. give up the dam codes ] no additional MSD or dakota digital boxes for tach, no re-working the VSS.

i might have another Chrysler/Jeep CAN BUS solution next week. waiting on parts for research.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCJ View Post
Jesus. This is what heaven on 4 wheels looks like.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon View Post
Hospital? What, are you suffering from Overextended Jeepaphelia or something? :)
I've never been poor, only broke. Poor is a state of mind. Broke is a condition brought on by Jeep ownership and a heavy right foot.

2006 Unlimited Redicon Panda Edition
RRI Long Arm...14" Fox CO's Front and Rear...D60 KP Front and D60 FF Rear... 5.38s spooled...40" Maxxis Trepadors...
6.1 HEMI...Atlas 5.1

5.7 HEMI 400 hp TJ Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/ye...17/?highlight=
6.1 HEMI Ultimate LJ Rubicon Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/6-...ayhem-1013800/
2.5 to 4.0L swap and build up http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/he.../#post14946167
4.0 to 2008 5.3L GM LS in the Taco'd TJ [frame off build].....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/5-...28/?highlight=
My new DD Build, lift, 4.0 motor swap, done in 6 days?....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/6.../#post15716292

the new shop... http://redrockwiring.com/ conversion, parts and wiring systems
shop email.... info@redrockindustries.net
LIKE US on facebook..... https://www.facebook.com/redrockindustriesinc adding more daily
redrockindustries.net
theGiantPanda is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-10-2013, 05:52 PM   #15
Necromancer_tat
Where'd all my money go?
 
Necromancer_tat's Avatar
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 5,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by theGiantPanda View Post
sorry at work and not sure what motor is in your jeep? if its still the 4.0 why not just use a factory cluster set up for the ECU you have..$100 and done. autometers are going to be atleast $240 for oil/fuel/temp/volt plus the tach $130 .. all new pricing of course.. but then you have to deal with secondary sensors. if you have a motor swap that utilizes can bus, autometer has nothing yet. sorry at work and cant devote the time to read your builds right now.

speedhut does have can bus gauges and run approx $88 a guage for 2 1/16 gauges. 3 3/8 speedo and tach are more $$ obviously...
  • CHEVY series CAN BUS can run fuel/oil/temp/volt/speedo and tach for sure
  • dodge/chrysler series CAN BUS can run fuel/temp/volt/speedo/tach. no oil pressure yet. they dont have the parameter codes yet.
just order a speedhut gauge set for my 2010 VVT hemi swap into a TJ. about $100 more than the same in an autometer set up but its 2 wire hook up for my application. no other sensors.... [except oil pressure-thanks chrysler.. give up the dam codes ] no additional MSD or dakota digital boxes for tach, no re-working the VSS.

i might have another Chrysler/Jeep CAN BUS solution next week. waiting on parts for research.
I have the 4.0 and an auto trans. The previous owner got rid of the factory gauge panel and installed all autometer gauges using the factory sending units... I know this because I had to go around and clean up the wiring when I first got the Jeep and some of the wires were tapped into the wires coming off of the factory sending units. I was really tapped out comming up with the cash to buy the Jeep, so the previous owner sugested that he keep all his autometer gauges and his Warn winch to make up the difference in price.
__________________
TJ: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/p...0/index14.html

2006 LJ SOLD!
Necromancer_tat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.