96 xj; 1980 bronco driveline swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Advanced Jeep Tech > 96 xj; 1980 bronco driveline swap

Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippRoad Race Motorsports Stage 2 Power Pack

Unread 03-12-2012, 12:28 PM   #1
cjallen22

Xj 96 xj; 1980 bronco driveline swap

OK guys here it goes, i'm a mechanic in the air force but im having a bit of trouble on this one. i have a 1996 Cherokee 2WD (xj) straight 6 4.0 auto. and i also have a 1980 ford bronco 300 cu straight six 4WD with locking hubs and is manual. what i'm trying to figure out is if i will be able to put the broncos driveline starting with the tranny and t-case and also the axles on my xj. has anyone seen this done? if so any pointers/ websites i can visit to make this happen. thanks

cjallen22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-14-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
2FFords
1951 M-38 

Howdy Man , the 300 is actually a really but engine and its long. I don't think it will fit in the engine compartment. The trans may work but you will probably have to buy an adapter from Novak to do it. And they aren't cheap. The front axle of the Broncos of that year are TTB independent. So I guess anything is possible but not probable without a lot of fab work. I would say Craig's List the rig that needs the most work and put the cash into the remaining rig. Then hit the trail. I just don't see a good way to melt these two vehicles together.

Good luck with your decisions.
Unread 03-15-2012, 07:38 AM   #3
ratmonkey
R.I.P.

1997 ZJ 

can't think of anything that bronco has that's particularly desirable and unique to it. do what the last guy suggested.