2004 TJ 2.4 to 4.0 swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Advanced Jeep Tech > 2004 TJ 2.4 to 4.0 swap

Labor Day Sale at UCF!Gibson WK HEMI 3" Catback - 5 Day Special!Ruffstuff XJ Unirail Channel Reinforcement....

Unread 02-20-2013, 03:08 PM   #1
RobSheaTJ
2004 TJ Wrangler 

2004 TJ 2.4 to 4.0 swap

Most of my mods up to this point have been pretty tame, the biggest one being a 3" lift. So I'm a bit of a newbie.

I love my Jeep but hate it's engine. Putting a 4.0 I6 in it would be amazing. I've been trying to do some research on it and thought it would be one of those threads that gets dredged up every few weeks or so but can't seem to find a single one.

Does anyone have any experience with this swap? Is it the most compatible engine in regards to transfer case and transmission issues? What other sorts of issues can I expect? Any other suggestions would be very much appreciated.

()_)()_)-o-)_)
RobSheaTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-20-2013, 03:18 PM   #2
Luke95
1998 XJ Cherokee 

Dude
Srt4 swap :P

Biggest issue I see is emissions.

Sent from my black box in my silver pos box
Unread 02-22-2013, 07:17 AM   #3
-jb-
2001 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobSheaTJ View Post
Most of my mods up to this point have been pretty tame, the biggest one being a 3" lift. So I'm a bit of a newbie.

I love my Jeep but hate it's engine. Putting a 4.0 I6 in it would be amazing. I've been trying to do some research on it and thought it would be one of those threads that gets dredged up every few weeks or so but can't seem to find a single one.