2000 TJ 5.2 swap PCM programming - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General Technical Discussions > Advanced Jeep Tech > 2000 TJ 5.2 swap PCM programming

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Reply
Unread 03-19-2013, 08:18 PM   #1
voodoo50
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: middleburg, florida
Posts: 12
2000 TJ 5.2 swap PCM programming

Ok, This one is for the Dodge Mechanic or swap guru's. Swap is done but the PCM does'nt send the ground signal for the injectors. looked online and not going that route due to all the complaints. I found I can get one from Advance Auto for 200.00...but it "needs to be programmed.

Now considering that there is nothing but engine and trans from the donor 1998 durango, is programming neccesary? I can't find anything online to confirm or deny. No emissions issues here in Fl. I'm not sure why this would be a requirement considering I confirmed the PCM issue using a PCM from a 2001 ram 1500, ran like a champ!

Looking forward to the ideas.

r/
Voodoo

__________________
I can't stop stupid, I can only slow it down....
voodoo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 04:44 AM   #2
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,805
They need the vin and mileage. They're stored in the pcm.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2013, 05:17 AM   #3
voodoo50
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: middleburg, florida
Posts: 12
That's sorta my point. What vin? I never had one. They won't use the jeep vin. So if I were to give them a vin with the last 6 made up and a bogus mileage would that work? More to the point....does it have to have that to work? The ram didn't match when it was in there and ran fine.

I'm just trying to figure out the actuals here. Why does the PCM require a vin? Dodge won't do the programming because it is a mod, which leaves me in a pinch.
__________________
I can't stop stupid, I can only slow it down....
voodoo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 01:43 AM   #4
theGiantPanda
Swap This...
 
theGiantPanda's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,507
did you run a external ASD and start relay? does your ASD function correctly? are you waking up the computer to tell it that you want it to start? if it was security it would run for a second and die. I think you might be missing a signal to the computer. my hemi wouldn't start until I told the computer to wake up and make the engine run!!!

do a search, theres a few guys that have the 5.2 swaps on lock.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCJ View Post
Jesus. This is what heaven on 4 wheels looks like.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deacon View Post
Hospital? What, are you suffering from Overextended Jeepaphelia or something? :)
I've never been poor, only broke. Poor is a state of mind. Broke is a condition brought on by Jeep ownership and a heavy right foot.

2006 Unlimited Redicon Panda Edition
RRI Long Arm...14" Fox CO's Front and Rear...D60 KP Front and D60 FF Rear... 5.38s spooled...40" Maxxis Trepadors...
6.1 HEMI...Atlas 5.1

5.7 HEMI 400 hp TJ Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/ye...17/?highlight=
6.1 HEMI Ultimate LJ Rubicon Build http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/6-...ayhem-1013800/
2.5 to 4.0L swap and build up http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/he.../#post14946167
4.0 to 2008 5.3L GM LS in the Taco'd TJ [frame off build].....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/5-...28/?highlight=
My new DD Build, lift, 4.0 motor swap, done in 6 days?....http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/6.../#post15716292

the new shop... http://redrockwiring.com/ conversion, parts and wiring systems
shop email.... info@redrockindustries.net
LIKE US on facebook..... https://www.facebook.com/redrockindustriesinc adding more daily
redrockindustries.net
theGiantPanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:32 AM   #5
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,805
It requires a truck vin and you should use your mileage.
Dodge computers just go bad when sitting around, no one knows why. As he said, it works fine with a known good computer, so he needs to get a different one.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:50 PM   #6
voodoo50
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: middleburg, florida
Posts: 12
Yea, did styling heck on ignition and fuel, as well as the asd. So I suppose I need to find a programmer. Does it need to be in the vehicle?
__________________
I can't stop stupid, I can only slow it down....
voodoo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 04:50 PM   #7
voodoo50
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: middleburg, florida
Posts: 12
Damn iPad spell check
__________________
I can't stop stupid, I can only slow it down....
voodoo50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2013, 07:41 PM   #8
ratmonkey
R.I.P.
 
ratmonkey's Avatar
1997 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,805
New pcm's are programmed by the manufacturer. Even the dealer drbiii tool can't change the vin in a vehicle. It can reconcile mileage though.

The comp needs the info, but only uses the vin for security and during emissions testing.
The mileage is stored for gauge cluster use.
Don't confuse your not needing the testing in your state for the computer not needing that info to complete its start up.

The used computers obviously were already programmed from the previous vehicle.
__________________
'97 zj 5.2, some stuff, some other suff, and some things that even work sometimes.

ratmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2013, 02:53 PM   #9
greenmachine99
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hagerstown,Maryland
Posts: 1,687
I just got a 99 ram 5spd pcm to put in my 99 TJ with a 5.2. Pulled it from the yard, sent it to bg Chrysler to have skim removed and my vin put in. The incorrect vin should have nothing to do with no ground to the injectors. Unless it has skim. It's an asd issue.
greenmachine99 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.