What's in Wordgie's Smoker? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > BBQ & Grilling > What's in Wordgie's Smoker?

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectJKS Now Available at www.baseline4x4.com, Trackbars, SkidsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 05-28-2013, 07:54 PM   #1
Wordgie
1999 TJ Wrangler 

What's in Wordgie's Smoker?

I'm a foodie. I love to eat, especially BBQ, so this section of the forum speaks to me. I figured I'd occupy a little space by showing off what I do and maybe provide some tips/inspiration to others. Plus, I could always stand to learn a thing or two.

I'm not an expert. I make no claim to be and I'm in no way, shape or form the be all end all authority on smoking. These are things that have worked for me. Things I've learned by making mistakes, things I've learned from my dad (alot of things I learned from him), and things I've picked up on from the internet and books.

If you have suggestions, great, let's hear them, but PLEASE don't be judgmental!

Anyway, now that that's out of the way, here's my first entry.

Here's some butts I did for Super Bowl Sunday.

I ordered them ahead of time from a local meat market and only paid a cent or two more per pound than the Smithfields I usually get at Wal Mart.

I mentioned this in the Boston Butt thread but I'll repeat. There win't a damn thing wrong with Smithfield pork products. Living in VA the first 10 years of my life, I was raised on the brand.

But, for some reason, the butts are too dense. Maybe they were frozen, maybe they're just raised that way. Because of that, heat doesn't penetrate enough to break it down. I've tried various mop sauces.