Anybody else for Matagorda? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South Central USA > Texas Jeep Forum > Anybody else for Matagorda?

Spartan Locker Promo Running now @ ROCKRIDGE 4WD plus FREEG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ ChTJ Wrangler 4" Rough Country Suspension Lift Kits in

Unread 01-04-2008, 11:58 PM   #1
skfullen
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Anybody else for Matagorda?

The wife and I have been frequenting Matagorda beach for almost 4 years. We think it is the best kept secret around.

Twenty-one miles of beach, mostly deserted in the winter. Plenty of opportunity to pull less capable vehicles from the sands in the summer.

We fish, four-wheel, drink beer, but not necessarily in that order, and safety is always foremost. Can't help but notice that there are not a lot of Wranglers there. It is relatively close to Houston (about 100 miles), so what gives?

Anybody else know about Matagorda?

Unread 01-05-2008, 12:57 AM   #2
gawdzkitchen

COR and TX4wd.org did a summer run...and I think the local yota and land rover clubs do a run or two throughout the year....I agree, great place to kind of get lost for the weekend...several of us took off up the coast and went all the way to the cut...hung out...laughed at the GPS readings saying we were 15 feet below sea level...turned around....played on the trees sticking out of the surf which are great natural RTI ramps...we will be planning another trip this spring/summer...oh yea, there's also a major clean up once a year that happens and a bunch of the local clubs usually have a decent showing....
Orange Jeep Club Member #1
gawdzkitchen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2008, 01:03 AM   #3
skfullen
2002 TJ Wrangler