Jeeping in Alma area of CO - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South Central USA > Colorado Jeep Forum > Jeeping in Alma area of CO

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 07-14-2014, 07:02 AM   #1
pajeep1234

Jeeping in Alma area of CO

I'm from PA and our family is heading out to ALMA CO for our second Colorado vacation. Want to Hike Mt Bross and Lincoln but also looking for Jeep trails for mild adventure. (not ready for wheeler lake) Want to do some geocaching and fun roads with the family. I have a stock 2004 LJ with duratrac 30's. I'm a careful and safe driver but I am not an experienced jeeper (yet)

Wanted to do Mosquito Pass and the jeep road up to Mt Bross. Has anyone done them this year? Is it something I should attempt? I've been looking at trip reports and videos on-line but thought I'd reach out and see if anyone here has taken those trails.

pajeep1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2014, 09:20 PM   #2
AlpineJeep

You can drive up mt Bross. It's fairly easy, I did it in my 01 sequoia a few years ago, the bristle cone pine tree park is really neat. A stock jeep can do it just fine. Wheeler lake is good, more challenging http://www.traildamage.com/google_co...106.0820300000

Have fun
AlpineJeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2014, 05:55 AM   #3
colojeepguy
1970 CJ5 

Mosquito Pass is mostly embedded rocks, so it's a rough ride, but doable.
Lots of old mining relics, and gorgeous scenery too. Check bushducks.com for current trail status, it's one of the highest in the state so it opens up late.
Unread 07-16-2014, 06:39 AM   #4
pajeep1234