New to Jeeps - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South West USA > Nevada Jeep Forum > New to Jeeps

ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 04-11-2013, 01:54 PM   #1
Syncityj
1998 ZJ 

New to Jeeps

Hi everyone,
My name is Jimmy and I am new to Jeeps. I am looking for a reliable daily driver and something that I can take out and meet up with people from here.
I am looking at cherokees and find that most are upwards of 120k miles. What should I look for when buying a cherokee? How do you guys feel about the 5.2 V8's? Is there anyone local to me (las Vegas area) looking to sell a great running jeep?

I have $3500-$4000 to spend and would like something 96 or newer, cherokee or grand cherokee doesn't matter. I would prefer a straight 6, but a V8 I can live with.

What kind of MPG's can i realistically expect from these years?

Is there 1 year better the the rest?

The more info you guys can give me, the better. I'd like to keep costs low so I can start lifting and modding and offroading as soon as possible. let me know what you guys think.

Thanks.

Syncityj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 02:03 PM   #2
andy02
2004 TJ Wrangler 

99 was probably the best year for the XJ. 120K on the odo wouldn't bother me at all provided it has the 4.0L. The 4L is basically a tractor motor. I have seen them run without oil pressure for upwords of 10 minutes with no major damage. If it has been taken care of, 300K is easy to get out of them.