New Jeeper - help with 3.07 to 3.73 gear or axle swap - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Four Wheeling Forums > Wheelin' Neighborhood > South West USA > Nevada Jeep Forum > New Jeeper - help with 3.07 to 3.73 gear or axle swap

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 08-18-2014, 05:22 PM   #1
JDP010

New Jeeper - help with 3.07 to 3.73 gear or axle swap

Hello - I'm new to Jeeps. I picked up an '03 4.0 TJ that has mis-matched gears. 3.07 in a D30 front. I want to swap it to 3.73 to match the D44 rear.

Anyone capable of helping me with the gear swap if I buy new gears/carrier/bearings. Just looking to save money over the $830-1130 estimates I have. I don't have the tools/knowledge for a gear job but would be interested in paying a knowledgeable weekend jeep mechanic for his time.

Alternatively, anyone have a D30 front axle from a TJ/XJ that I could buy for an axle swap I can do myself. Seems like this might be the more affordable option as 3.73 D30s seem like almost a throwaway part for many guys.

Any comments on which route I should go? Mostly just a street driver that I want to be semi-capable for deer/elk hunting. Nothing too intense. No lift.

JDP010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-19-2014, 10:24 AM   #2
sirhk100

I doubt you're going to find anyone here that does their own gear swaps. I could be wrong but...

Watch the classified thread, that's most likely where you're going to find a axle come up for grabs. That and craigslist. I've seen them for dirt cheap on there quite a few times recently as we were considering purchasing one for work reasons.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/TPF-Racing/255393361194429
sirhk100 is offline   Reply With Quote