JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   WJ Grand Cherokee Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/)
-   -   WJ noob looking for some tech info (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/wj-noob-looking-some-tech-info-1549498/)

Empty_Pockets 07-15-2013 09:41 PM

WJ noob looking for some tech info

Dont kill me its probably a dumb question but im new to WJ's and 4.7L's. I found a gorgeous 03 WJ overland that im going to look at tomorrow. It dropped some valves, I was thinking of swapping a 5.3L chevy in it but the swap is way over my head after seeing a few swap threads. Will a dodge ram 4.7L work in the wj? Is there a way to fix the valve issues that they 4.7's have? How is the 4.7 on fuel?
Im switching for an xj to this truck they are alot different, any tips as to what to look for on these trucks would be helpful as well.
:cheers:

cubalz 07-16-2013 07:04 AM

I would just repair the engine that is in it. Replace the heads but make sure that the piston is not damaged where the valves dropped. Why make it super hard on yourself but fixing a head issue by doing some sort of swap? As far as fuel mileage? I get roughly the same mpg with my GC with the 4.7 as I do with my Rubicon with a 4.0 running 35's. Both suck but no one buys a Jeep for its stellar mpg's (GC CRD's excluded ;))

Make sure that your offer for the Overland takes into account the outlay of cash to fix the known issue and any others that may rear their ugly head after you get it running and driving. Good Luck

Empty_Pockets 07-16-2013 08:52 AM

Im just looking for something thats gonna be somewhat decent on gas. My Camaro with a cammed 6.0 gets about 9mpg around town and doenst see weather. As for the motor I was thinking about swapping engines just for piece of mind, what if the piston has a tiny crack I cant see or a broken ring land or something.

cubalz 07-16-2013 09:03 AM