Wj long arm help? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Wj long arm help?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!The Ruffstuff NOT Universal 4 Link Kit!

Unread 09-28-2010, 12:05 PM   #1
jrberry13
1999 WJ 

Wj long arm help?

Hi i need some help guys....I took my jeep to a auto shop and they said i needed new rods as they called it, but i think they are long arms but not sure since i'm new to lifted jeeps. I will post a pic of it below . I need help on buying new long arms as cheap as possible or is there new bearings i can buy for them???? My jeep is a 99 wj 4.7 with i think 3-5 in lift not sure though since i bought it lifted.
any help will greatly appreciated!!

jeeplongarm.jpg  
jrberry13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2010, 12:48 PM   #2
KDog223
2001 WJ 

I'm sure he meant the Rod Ends need replacing but with that much rust you might want to replace the whole arm at this point.
jeeplongarm2.jpg   rod-end.jpg  
KDog223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-28-2010, 01:49 PM   #3
jrberry13
1999 WJ 

So are those called control arms or long arms......also would you reccomend a brand to buy?
i also got another question....I need a rear drive shaft too, but i dont know what to get since my jeep has had a 2wd/4wd transfer case installed....i dont know if i should just get a stock 4x4 all-time drive shaft or another? im little confused.
Unread 09-28-2010, 03:17 PM   #4
85IrocZ-28
1999 WJ 

Your picture shows the lower control arm. It could be a short arm (mounts at the factory location on the body) or a long arm (the factory body side mount is cut off, and a new one is welded on allowing a longer control arm).