WJ brake drag/sticky calipers - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-17-2017, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
TheTank39

Garage
WJ brake drag/sticky calipers

Hey guys, I'm new to jeep forum but I've been a long time reader and have been lurking on wrangler forum for a few years. My other vehicle is a 2002 Grand Cherokee 4.0 auto 2wd. We got it and after we took long drives we would smell burning brakes and the Jeep would start pull pretty hard right. Almost like a lane change on the highway. So we constantly have to fight it. I researched and saw we had the defective teves style brakes. So I changed everything over to the akebono style as well as a few other things. New pads, rotors, calipers, guide pins, and new flexible brake lines. I also flushed the brake system with new fluid. The thing still pulls right and we still smell the burning smell. Granted it takes longer trips and the smell is less potent but it is still there. It also is pulling right all the time now. Could I have gotten a defective caliper? I'm lost and any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 02-17-2017, 12:01 PM
HarryH3
2001 WJ 

First, figure out which wheel the smell is coming from. You can tell right away when you're closest to the one that is overheated. The smell will be nauseating, plus you can feel the heat coming off the rotor/wheel. You can also quickly check the temp of each rotor with a cheap non-contact IR thermometer. It could be that a rear caliper is the one that's sticking, so replacing the front parts wouldn't help one bit.
post #3 of 14 Old 02-17-2017, 01:06 PM
steve_80
2000 WJ 

Garage
what brand rotors/pads?

post #4 of 14 Old 02-17-2017, 01:36 PM Thread Starter
TheTank39

Garage