Will these speakers work in a WJ? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 05:21 PM Thread Starter
Locutus
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Revere
Posts: 702
Will these speakers work in a WJ?

i want to replace my speakers. will these fit?
thanks


Brand: Kicker
Model #: 40CS674
Built-In Crossover: Yes
Manufacturer Color Name: Black
Car Speaker Type: Coaxial
Cutout Diameter Or Length (in.): 5.50
Flush-Mount: Yes
Frequency Response: 40-20k
Impedance (ohms): 4
Installation Required: Yes
Manufacturer Warranty: 1 year limited parts and labor
Mount Depth (in.): 1.8100
Peak Power Handling (watts): 300
Product Depth (in.): 1.81
Product Height (in.): 6.75
Product Weight (lb.): 4.15
Product Width (in.): 6.75
Resistance (ohms): 4
RMS Power Range (watts): 100
Speaker Mount Type: Top
Speaker Size (in.): 6.75
Tweeter Composition: polyetherimide
Woofer Composition: polyester foam
Woofer Surround: Foam




Brand: Kicker
Model #: 40CS6934
Built-In Crossover: Yes
Manufacturer Color Name: Black
Car Speaker Type: Coaxial
Cutout Diameter Or Length (in.): 8.44
Flush-Mount: Yes
Frequency Response: 30-20k
Impedance (ohms): 4
Installation Required: Yes
Manufacturer Warranty: 1 year limited parts and labor
Mount Depth (in.): 3.1800
Peak Power Handling (watts): 450
Product Depth (in.): 3.18
Product Height (in.): 6
Product Weight (lb.): .47
Product Width (in.): 9
Resistance (ohms): 4
RMS Power Range (watts): 150
Speaker Mount Type: Top
Speaker Size (in.): 6.00
Tweeter Composition: polyetherimide
Woofer Composition: polypropylene
Woofer Surround: Foam

Locutus is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 05:44 PM
silentbob21
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 716
the second speakers, which I am assuming are 6x9s are little too deep, the max mounting depth you can use in a WJ is 2 7/8 inches... I replaced all my door speakers with speakers that were exactly that 2 7/8" and they are close to the window when its down. there is still enough room but if you are over 3" its not gonna work...

those rears seem like they should be fine. be tough to find an amp that will accommodate both of those easily though without payin a hefty price. 100 - 150 watts RMS is a pretty big jump for a 4 channel amp.

some good info on this site you can read here:

http://www.wjjeeps.com/jlaudio.htm

can check out my build thread as well, but I dont Think I talked about the door speakers too much:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/...heavy-1524891/

Aaron

2004 WJ SE 4.0L I6, NV242, IRO 6.5 LAs D44a Spartan locked, 4.88s, BFG KM2s 35/12.5/15


silentbob21 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Locutus
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Revere
Posts: 702
I still have the infinity amp wired in. Will that work?
Locutus is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 05:53 PM
silentbob21
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 716
definitely not, the infinity amp is a 6 channel amp... and it barely puts out any power, you would be better off removing it and just using an aftermarket head unit to power your door speakers. you will lose the dash speakers either way as there is no way to retain 6 channels with a 4 channel anything... unless you use crossovers as I did. which is still 4 channels but allows you to run components with separate tweeters on each channel.

those speakers are coaxial so I would just ditch the dash speakers all together if you are going that route and either remove them or just leave them in unhooked.

but either way stock amp is a no go with aftermarket speakers, and I believe the infinity system is set up to run at 8 ohms so your 4 ohm speakers would be no good anyway.

Aaron

2004 WJ SE 4.0L I6, NV242, IRO 6.5 LAs D44a Spartan locked, 4.88s, BFG KM2s 35/12.5/15


silentbob21 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 06:00 PM
Terminal
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lexington
Posts: 159
Hey, SilentBob. Is the factory wire gauge heavy enough to handle a real 4x100 RMS amp like Alpine in the door components speakers -- so I can splice in where the factory infinity amp is located -- or do you think it should be re-wired to handle the new power?
Terminal is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Locutus
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Revere
Posts: 702
i have a Kenwood unit. i forget what model. everything else is stock, all 4 door speakers, dash speakers and amp.. i bought it that way. The head unit is wired thru the amp. and it all works and sound pretty good. one of the woofers is blown and i want to replace all the doors. Do you have a rec. for the doors? I am an audio rookie. As in i know less than nothing
thanks
Locutus is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-11-2013, 10:30 PM
silentbob21
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminal View Post
Hey, SilentBob. Is the factory wire gauge heavy enough to handle a real 4x100 RMS amp like Alpine in the door components speakers -- so I can splice in where the factory infinity amp is located -- or do you think it should be re-wired to handle the new power?
the factory wiring is around 20 gauge so I would say no, I wouldnt push 100 watts rms through that, it was pretty easy to run new wiring anyway, I just ran 16 gauge to my doors to be safe.


you can absolutely still use the factory amp with new speakers but you aren't going to be getting the full potential out of your speakers.

2004 WJ SE 4.0L I6, NV242, IRO 6.5 LAs D44a Spartan locked, 4.88s, BFG KM2s 35/12.5/15


silentbob21 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-12-2013, 02:27 AM
ADragg
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentbob21 View Post
you can absolutely still use the factory amp with new speakers but you aren't going to be getting the full potential out of your speakers.
I've actually heard that you don't want to run most decent or good component speakers until you at least have an aftermarket head unit, as the stock Infinity amp puts out so little power that it can blow the speakers by under-powering them. I can't remember the explanation of why speakers can be blown due to under-powering.
ADragg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome