What do I need to upgrade to my new head unit? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > What do I need to upgrade to my new head unit?

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Reply
Unread 11-24-2013, 07:45 PM   #1
braddf
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: clinton, NC
Posts: 776
What do I need to upgrade to my new head unit?

I was reading on wjjeeps and it just completely blew me away with information. I have an 01 and it said I have the old connecting pin set up that was changed in 2002 and I needed an adapter ton convert it. But then later it said that I needed this. I am so confused as to what I need. I want this head unit and I am keeping the stock amp with new speakers. http://www.amazon.com/Kenwood-KDC-25...glink121868-20 Such a headache.

__________________
Build thread: http://bit.ly/1puFzZm
Stock rims for sale: http://bit.ly/1kMw7k5
braddf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
MuddyWJ
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Rafael, Ca
Posts: 2,303
http://www.tune-town.com/Cars/stuff/pac_oem1.htm
This is what you need according to wjjeeps. You can also call up Crutchfield and ask them. They're generally have pretty good customer service.
MuddyWJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-2013, 10:34 PM   #3
99_wj_QD
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 63
technically you can install it with just the new head unit and a dash mounting kit...going this route will require you to solder the new harness on the head unit onto the existing wires in your jeep. It's the way I put mine in, a bit more time consuming but it is a much cleaner install as far as the wiring, plus you save the money for the wiring harness adapter.

If you want to do it this way just let me know and I will send you a copy of the wiring diagram for your radio so you will be able to identify what wires to solder to the new unit.
99_wj_QD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-25-2013, 07:47 AM   #4
jeep-drivin-YZ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pittstown, NY
Posts: 35
If you order off crutchfield they include dash kit and wiring harness for free.
jeep-drivin-YZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-25-2013, 08:01 AM   #5
jamesrw30
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingsport, Tennessee
Posts: 183
Agree with jeep-drivin. I just changed mine and ordered it from crutchfield. When you go to their site you can search by what fits your vehicle. From there just look for a unit that says includes free installation hardware (or something to that effect). These will come with everything you need to install it and good instructions. And if you have questions they are good about helping.
jamesrw30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-25-2013, 08:23 AM   #6
ZJPunk98
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Posts: 2,065
Likewise, I ordered through crutchfield and everything i needed came with it or i could purchase it.
__________________
Erik

98 ZJ 5.2L JGC Limited Sold
02 4.7L HO JGC Overland
ZJPunk98 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.