Ultra Gauge - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Ultra Gauge

Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955XHD Heavy-Duty Hood Latches for JK and TJ available at OcoFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options!

Reply
Unread 08-23-2013, 12:11 PM   #1
bcvetter
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: acworth, ga
Posts: 169
Ultra Gauge

Considering an Ultra Gauge for my WJ. Was thinking about mounting it in the cubby below the AC controls. Question is has anyone done this? and if so any pics?

Also, any thoughts about the ultra gauge in general?

bcvetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-23-2013, 02:20 PM   #2
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,656
I have a scangaugeII in my Saturn and love it.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 01:46 PM   #3
bcvetter
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: acworth, ga
Posts: 169
No one else?
bcvetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 02:09 PM   #4
Darnice
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 465
Never seen that before, looks nice, if it works on a WJ. For $60, might be worth a try. I think there is an issue where the power is on the ODBII connector on the jeeps and it won't power off. Not sure on that but I had a scan gauge 1 and it would never power off.
Darnice is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 02:13 PM   #5
ChrisHager
Web Wheeler
 
ChrisHager's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 4,629
If I don't turn the switch off, my Kiwi Bluetooth adapter plugged into my OBDII port will stay on as well...
__________________
His: 2004 WJ - OME HD 'Kolak' Lift - Build Thread
His: 1979 J-10 - 3" on 33s - Build Thread
Hers: 2000 TJ

ChrisHager's 'Grilled' Thread

WJ Torque Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by tommyooooooh View Post
But ChrisHager makes me want to poor water on a burning bucket of gasoline now just out of curiosity.
Quote:
Originally Posted by billzcat1 View Post
The latest lift kit from Rough Country? :D
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeples View Post
Your symptoms sounds just like what it does when it's not doing what it should because of how it is.
ChrisHager is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 02:42 PM   #6
bcvetter
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: acworth, ga
Posts: 169
http://www.ultra-gauge.com/customer_....php?article=7

Just found this. Thanks for the input. I think I'll go for it and post pics.
bcvetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 05:45 PM   #7
Darnice
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 465
I was reading the forums for the gauge. Turns out the new version 1.2 can sense that the ignition is off and will power itself off. Note your link was refering to ver 1.0. So I suspect it will work. Too bad the cable comes out the side and not the back of the gauge making it harder to mount in the cubby hole below the HVAC controls.
Darnice is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 05:58 PM   #8
gcjeeping
Web Wheeler
 
gcjeeping's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: -----Sacramento-----, USAF RETIRED 462X0
Posts: 3,501
I wouldn't put it in the cubby. Too far to look down at it.

I just use my phone, elm327 and the torque app.





gcjeeping is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 07:00 PM   #9
bcvetter
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: acworth, ga
Posts: 169
I measured for the cubby and it should fit even with the cable on. I do wish that there was a cleaner place to mount it but I don't like anything on my windshield or dash.
bcvetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2013, 07:42 PM   #10
TJSWJ
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olmsted Falls, ohio
Posts: 2,272
Ive got the ug, worth every penny.
__________________
[URL="http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f197/tjs-01-wj-build-thread-1023461/"]4.5" Claytons, 33's, 231hd, locked, and more. Click here for details[/URL]
TJSWJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2013, 03:55 AM   #11
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,656
If its like the scangauge. Knowing the trans temp would be worth it.

I figured out the PID for trans temp on my Saturn. I didn't look on their site for it for the WJ. By now somebody should have figured it out.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2013, 04:34 AM   #12
georged
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: central Florida
Posts: 721
Can it be used at the same time the unit from my insurance company that tracks my driving habits is plugged in? It would probably require a piggyback plug if that is available.
georged is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2013, 06:46 AM   #13
rebelbowtie
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by georged
Can it be used at the same time the unit from my insurance company that tracks my driving habits is plugged in? It would probably require a piggyback plug if that is available.
It'd def have to be piggy backed, they make cables to hook up more than one device to the DLC

Anywho here is mine in my XJ and T4R, its worth every penny IMO and has already paid for itself in beer since I can check and clear my friends codes.



__________________
He's an angel dressed in oilskins; he's a saint in the "Sou'wester,"
He's a pluck as they come, or ever can;
He's a hero born and bred, but it hasn't swelled his head,
For he's just the U.S. Government's hired man.
rebelbowtie is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2013, 08:25 AM   #14
rfritz7
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: York, PA
Posts: 201
Will the Ultra Gauge tell me my transmission temp on my 04 wj 4.0?
rfritz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-30-2013, 08:30 AM   #15
rebelbowtie
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Daphne, AL
Posts: 2,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by rfritz7
Will the Ultra Gauge tell me my transmission temp on my 04 wj 4.0?
No, not currently.
__________________
He's an angel dressed in oilskins; he's a saint in the "Sou'wester,"
He's a pluck as they come, or ever can;
He's a hero born and bred, but it hasn't swelled his head,
For he's just the U.S. Government's hired man.
rebelbowtie is online now   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.