TPS Where is it? How to Replace? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > TPS Where is it? How to Replace?

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Building a Bumper?Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 01-16-2008, 04:25 PM   #1
86Spider
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heart of the Bluegrass
Posts: 194
TPS Where is it? How to Replace?

My check engine light came on and I had the guy at O'Rielly check it.
It came up with a P0122 Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Low Input.
So, where is this thing located on a 2003 Gr Cherokee 4.0? What's it look like and do I have to adjust the new one when I get it??

Thanks-

__________________
Mark in Kentucky
93 YJ 4cyl 5 spd
4" RC Lift, 33x12.50 MT's
86Spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-16-2008, 04:51 PM   #2
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,083
TPS is easy to find and replace. It does not need any adjusting. Attached are a couple of pages from the FSM to help locate it and replace.
tps1.jpg   tps2.jpg  
__________________
2001 WJ Limited with Quadra-Drive, Kenne Bell Supercharger, 3-inch Kolak exhaust, Stillen rotors (F/R) and MM pads, Addco sway bars (F/R).
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-16-2008, 05:13 PM   #3
greasefingers
Registered User
1994 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northern VA, USA, NJ
Posts: 8,237
I do not know about newer Jeeps, but if it has Drive-by-wire then it might have both a pedal position sensor and a TPS (throttle position sensor)?
__________________
Cheers Steve

94 Black Laredo 4-Liter with QuadraTrac (42RE trans & NP249 TC) 200,000 + miles purchased new

88 Cherokee 2-door with 5speed manual 139K miles(deceased) purchased new
greasefingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-16-2008, 07:47 PM   #4
86Spider
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heart of the Bluegrass
Posts: 194
rm2001wj: You're the man!! Thanks for the pictures, that's just what I needed!

greasefingers: They only came up with one part number at O'Rielly, but the manager there thought there should be a sensor at the pedal.....hmmmm.

.
__________________
Mark in Kentucky
93 YJ 4cyl 5 spd
4" RC Lift, 33x12.50 MT's
86Spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-17-2008, 02:48 PM   #5
86Spider
Registered User
1993 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Heart of the Bluegrass
Posts: 194
Today the Check Engine Light is off.................

I think I will go ahead and get the TPS from O'Rielly, I think he said it's about $35, and toss it in the glovebox or the back netting of the Jeep and replace it when it gets a bit warmer or when it fails!!

.
__________________
Mark in Kentucky
93 YJ 4cyl 5 spd
4" RC Lift, 33x12.50 MT's
86Spider is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2010, 02:43 PM   #6
orb
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86Spider View Post
Today the Check Engine Light is off.................

I think I will go ahead and get the TPS from O'Rielly, I think he said it's about $35, and toss it in the glovebox or the back netting of the Jeep and replace it when it gets a bit warmer or when it fails!!

.
So did the light ever come back on? I'm getting the same code (p0122) on my 2003 WJ. Anyone else had this code and a new TPS resolved it?
orb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2011, 03:29 PM   #7
35charlie
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cornelius, Oregon
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by orb View Post
So did the light ever come back on? I'm getting the same code (p0122) on my 2003 WJ. Anyone else had this code and a new TPS resolved it?
I had the p0122 code come on and go away 2x in a few weeks' time. I changed the TPS a few weeks ago and no more codes.

However, it's occasionally idling at 1100 RPM instead of the normal ~750. Restarting sometimes corrects the idle. I've checked the intake and water temp sensors with OBD and by pulling the connectors while running (causing the engine to speed up & set codes) and they all checked out ok. Anyone have any suggestions? The new TPS measures 0.5V at idle and 3.6V at WOT.
35charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2011, 03:56 PM   #8
rm2001wj
Web Wheeler
 
rm2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,083
Try cleaning the IAC (idle air control) solenoid/motor, or consider replacing it if cleaning doesn't solve the problem. Although some sources (like the Haynes Manual) will say differently, your TPS voltages are typical and indicate no problem there.

It wouldn't hurt and is usually helpful if you supplied info on your Jeep, in the post or by filling out the profile.
rm2001wj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2011, 10:35 AM   #9
35charlie
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cornelius, Oregon
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm2001wj View Post
Try cleaning the IAC (idle air control) solenoid/motor, or consider replacing it if cleaning doesn't solve the problem. Although some sources (like the Haynes Manual) will say differently, your TPS voltages are typical and indicate no problem there.

It wouldn't hurt and is usually helpful if you supplied info on your Jeep, in the post or by filling out the profile.
Thanks. I have a 2002 4.0L WJ. I guess I should have said that and I've updated my info now.

After I posted and did some more googling my next thing was going to be to clean the IAC. The throttle body is pretty black below the butterfly.

A couple other pieces of info:

The idle does run up and down when I cycle the A/C (even from the higher starting point). It acts like the IAC is at least moving but perhaps it's moving to/from the wrong base point.

I connected a OBD scan guage and was monitoring the TPS when it was at high idle. I need to reconfirm but I'm pretty sure it was at 14 at idle when it was normally at 10. Does the IAC actually move the throttle or just bypass the butterfly?

Last edited by 35charlie; 02-14-2011 at 12:36 PM..
35charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2011, 11:28 AM   #10
melk
Registered User
1996 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,891
It you remove the IAC from the TB you will see there is a passage that bypasses the butterfly. Be sure to clean in there too.
melk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-2011, 01:01 AM   #11
sbotzer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rishon, Rishon
Posts: 1
Hey,

I am looking to know where the TPS is on the 2008 Diesel JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, 3.7L V6.

Thanks,

SHay
sbotzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-2011, 11:43 PM   #12
35charlie
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cornelius, Oregon
Posts: 4
I don't know where it is on the diesel but I realized I never updated my high idle issue. It turns out there was a rotten vacuum hose that I finished off when I changed the TPS. It's the u-shaped one that stands in the air near there. When was changing the TPS, my arm rested on it and the ends split. So I was fighting an intermittent vacuum leak. New hose = problem solved!
35charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.