Tired of Code Chasing! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Tired of Code Chasing!

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 07-10-2014, 05:53 AM   #1
ravensfan1976

Tired of Code Chasing!

I've been a Jeep owner for over 20 years, but this is my first time posting on a forum looking for mechanical answers, so any advice you guys can give would be greatly appreciated.

Back in December of 2013 I bought a 2002 Grand Cherokee Laredo. From the first week I got a P0300, 303 & 304. I brought it back repeatedly to the dealer who made several attempts to fix it, to no avail. Eventually the warranty ran out and I honestly got tired of going without a vehicle for days at a time while they tried chasing the problem.

The following parts have been replaced chasing these codes:

By the shop: Cam Position Sensor, Plugs

By me: Plugs (again), Ignition Coil Rail, Battery, Throttle Position Sensor

This includes several treatments with Seafoam.

After each part was changed no codes would pop up for at least a week or so. Once I started to think I was golden, boom, codes again.

Once I changed out the TPS I got a P0420. Reset it for it to come back a few days later. Coincidentally I changed the oil and filter after the second 420 code and for whatever reason I didn't get any codes of any kind for well over a month.

Then suddenly a few days ago the dreaded 420 came back, followed shortly by the 300, 303 & 304. And they've been tripping daily. Usually after I've been driving for over 20 minutes or so on the highway.