Is it the switch? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-11-2011, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
TheGeek
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Elyria
Posts: 21
Is it the switch?

I was out today getting my emissions tested (passed), and on the way home I noticed that my blinkers stopped working. I checked the forum, thought it was probably the flasher, paid $50 for one, and it did NOT fix the problem. I've checked inside and out, and cannot find any fuses for the blinkers (ARE THERE ANY?). My hazards DO work. All my lights DO work. No blinkers though. So is it the switch? Hope so. I already ordered one.

TheGeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-11-2011, 06:25 PM
KDog223
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 363
Scroll down this page for WJ flasher repair tip

http://www.wjjeeps.com/fuses.htm

It might help.
KDog223 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-11-2011, 06:32 PM
pdpunome
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,047
its the relay i have been battling the same issue randomly my blinkers stop working then fine the next day. i am on my third relay in a month. something else is happening electrically in these trucks besides the relays!!!
pdpunome is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-11-2011, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
TheGeek
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Elyria
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdpunome View Post
its the relay
I just replaced the relay with a new one in the package. Still get nothing but hazards (but when the hazards are on you can hear the relay clicking). So, you know how you get that pissed off feeling when you buy a $50 part and it doesn't fix the problem?... gonna be twice as bad if my $80 part comes in Friday and doesn't fix the problem either.
Pdpunome, I'll let you know if this fixes it or not. You might have 3 perfectly good relays and 1 bad turn signal switch. S10's trucks and blazers were plagued by these switches going out all the time and the design is pretty much the same, so I'm crossing my fingers that this is it.
TheGeek is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-12-2011, 05:08 AM
pdpunome
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,047
tried that theory as well i have three of those i keep swapping out trying different combos of switches and relays... same thing good for a week then bam all day no turns at all or just the left then good all others.
pdpunome is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-13-2011, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
TheGeek
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Elyria
Posts: 21
New switch installed... did NOT fix. Aggrevated. However, when clicking down the blinker, I DID notice that my AC/Heater made a quiet clunking noise. So I start messing with the AC/Heater controls and... nothing works (it was working BEFORE the blinkers started messing up). Aha. There's a short somewhere. I hate electricity. I don't even know where to start, but I guess I gotta go do it. Wish me luck.
TheGeek is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-13-2011, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
TheGeek
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Elyria
Posts: 21
ELECTRICAL GREMLIN FOUND. Even more aggrevated now that it's fixed because the problem was something I already checked. Fuse #20 (10 amp). The fuze is not blown. It's sort of blown. It looks like it started to blow or did blow, but then melted the lead back together. There's a connection there, but probably not enough to let the correct voltage through. I replaced the fuze and AC and blinkers work again.
Like I said, I had already pulled the fuse out and it looked fine. It wasn't until I looked at the other side of it that I could tell it wasn't right. So if anyones got an intermittant problem, check that #20.
Attached Thumbnails
bad fuse.jpg  
TheGeek is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-13-2011, 03:27 PM
pdpunome
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,047
sweet i will check my fuse out now good find
pdpunome is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-13-2011, 03:54 PM
billzcat1
Chicken in a Turkey Suit
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Redmond
Posts: 8,532
Yeah, I've had a few OE Jeep fuses that appeared fine visually but were actually blown when tested with a multimeter for resistance.
billzcat1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Oil pressure switch kinnell WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 8 12-20-2011 08:38 PM
Those with switch panels?! AustinMeredith WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 04-05-2011 10:42 AM
What do i need to switch to HID bulbs? steveridesli WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 10-19-2010 11:08 AM
oil sending switch tommybear67 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 04-08-2010 07:42 AM
WJ switch locations 04WJny WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 21 04-07-2010 09:46 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome