Rocker panel repair with 2x6 steel tube - JeepForum.com
 3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 52 Old 05-04-2015, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
lemiller
2001 WJ 

Rocker panel repair with 2x6 steel tube

Hey everyone,
Like most WJ guys that live in the Midwest I had to deal with my rocker panels and wheel arches rusting out over time. I needed to replace both my driver side and passenger side rocker panels and my passenger side rear wheel arch. In this thread I want to focus on the rocker panels, I will make another post for the wheel arch. I didn't take a ton of pictures and I don’t mean for this to be a full DIY write up but hopefully it will help someone along the way that needs to do this.

First off, I just want to say that I am by no means an expert welder or body man; in all honesty this is my first time attempting something like this. If anyone has advice on ways that would have worked better or different strategies to take please feel free to post it and help everyone out.

Items I used:
3in die grinder
4in angle grinder
various cut off wheels,flap wheels grinding discs etc.
blue painters tape
Eastwood Rust Inhibiting paint
East Wood Internal Frame coating
Hobart Handler 140 Welder w/gas

I started off by using blue painters tape to run a lie down the jeep at the desired cut height. Take your time with this and make it as straight as possible. The straighter it is now the less you need to touch up later

Using a 3in die grinder that I picked up from harbor freight (actually a pretty good tool for how inexpensive it is) I started cutting off the outer rocker. With the outer rocker off I could really see the extent of the rust.

When cutting the rocker panels off you need to be careful at the front and rear of the vehicle. There is factory installed foam, which I’m assuming is to cut down road noise that could possibly catch on fire. I just used a screw driver to scrape out as much as I could/needed.