RB1 radio issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > RB1 radio issues

Bill Baird Motorsports DIY parts - NalinMFG.comFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 04-05-2013, 09:08 PM   #1
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,337
The limited 04 I just got for Grammy came with the RB1 and the radio always plays. But sometimes the display doesn't come on for a while.

While display is off the only thing that works is the volume. If I turn key to ACC or ON without starting it I get the display and everything is good. When I go to start, it I loose the display from anywhere of 1 minute to 50 minutes at which time the display comes back on and everything is back to normal.

I feel like touching up the solder joints.

86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 06:19 AM   #2
pdpunome
Senior Member
 
pdpunome's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: , NJ
Posts: 942
is the nav disc in it while this is happening? these radios are notorious for acting funny with the disc's in them. if it is try without it in and see if you get the same results. if it is not or continues after then remove it completely let it sit for a while then install back in and see if resets itself. its a software firmware issue more than likely.
__________________
2000 4.0 Selec Trac
pdpunome is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 08:14 AM   #3
g33kdrummer
Registered User
1995 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: deer park, ny
Posts: 31
I've got an issue with the CD player, it just stops playing after a while. Is there a good replacement?
g33kdrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 01:03 PM   #4
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdpunome
is the nav disc in it while this is happening? these radios are notorious for acting funny with the disc's in them. if it is try without it in and see if you get the same results. if it is not or continues after then remove it completely let it sit for a while then install back in and see if resets itself. its a software firmware issue more than likely.
It's no disk. Is their firmware on the disk?

It seems like if I remote start it its fine. Radio is on. But if I use the ignition key it will come on. Then when I start engine its off. Then back to on again I have the radio playing but the display is blank, and no response to buttons. It (the display) eventually comes on. But the amount of time ii takes is random.

I need to clean the battery terminals. They are nasty that will power down the radio completely.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 01:14 PM   #5
Schlotzky
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pacific, Washington
Posts: 874
The screen turns off in "Start" position among other things to allow maximum current to the starter, so that part is normal. Obviously the screen should be coming on immediately after the engine starts, though. Do try a hard reset and see if anything changes.

Mine used to randomly shut off and restart while driving down the road, even with navigation going. The newest nav disc took care of that issue, but the problem occurred with the old nav disc inserted. Of course, I couldn't say if it occurred with the disc out as well as I never take it out.
Schlotzky is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 02:10 PM   #6
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,337
So the collective thinks its a software issue? Or something wrong with the connections / failing chip?

I cleaned the battery terminals but must not have let them off long enough. The radio still had its presets when I got it to come on.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 04:25 PM   #7
Schlotzky
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pacific, Washington
Posts: 874
I don't think the RB1 forgets presets without power. I had my battery disconnected for 6ish hours for my blend door fix and the presets were still there when I turned the Jeep back on. It had lost the time, though, and then briefly received and updated the time. So it's still doing it I presume?
Schlotzky is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 05:01 PM   #8
86cj74.2L
Web Wheeler
 
86cj74.2L's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Stouchsburg, PA
Posts: 6,337
Yes still doing it.


I know for a fact that I can remote start it and its 98% chance it will be on.

I also know that if its sat awhile I can put it to on and it will come on too. Go to start it though and its a blank display and dead buttons. However the volume always works from both the knob and the remote buttons on steering wheel.

So saying that, it seems to be something related to how the face plate gets connected to the main board. Which I can bring to work and touch up the solder joints.
86cj74.2L is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-18-2013, 03:44 PM   #9
Bad_Karma
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Woodridge
Posts: 37
Did you ever try touching up the solder joints? If so, any results?
Bad_Karma is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.