RB1 factory NAV head unit? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > RB1 factory NAV head unit?

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all USA Standard Chromoly Front Axle Shaft Kits with Dana 30 4Stainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 06-14-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
2ndhandWJman
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Baltimore, md
Posts: 244
RB1 factory NAV head unit?

Anyone using one of these? I have a buddy who just put one in his Rubicon, he pulled it from a WJ and apparently these are very plentiful from Caravans. From what I can read on the interwebz it's a plug and play operation, you just have to mount the GPS antenna under the dash somewhere.

2ndhandWJman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 04:50 PM   #2
Darnice
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 425
Yep, 2003 is plug and play. But you must have the GPS antenna
Now if you add Sirius. You need to run a new cable to the receiver for it to display channel and song info for SAT
Darnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 05:15 PM   #3
Indy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WY
Posts: 2,839
Ive got one, it works but not that usefull really. The last map pdate was 2008 i think.
__________________
Odds are im typing on a tablet. It takes too much effort to add some punctuation. Im lazy, get over it

Never underestimate the power of stupid.
Indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
fosterjd79
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Concord, NH
Posts: 863
I thought that they update the map and software annually.
__________________
[URL=http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f197/fosterjd79s-wj-build-thread-1498923/][COLOR="white"]Fosterjd79 Build Thread[/COLOR][/url]
fosterjd79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:53 AM   #5
Darnice
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by fosterjd79 View Post
I thought that they update the map and software annually.
Yep I just got the 2012 update

http://www.navigation.com/is-bin/INT...0AAAEOJWQZ6UI7
Darnice is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 10:06 AM   #6
WJChris
Registered User
 
WJChris's Avatar
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, California
Posts: 2,539
I have version AL (2013) that will allow you to use it while driving. PM me for more info!

This may be the last version to come out, as they only support their units for 7 years. The REC (the same SW and maps as RB1) was finished in 2007, so I assume there will be one more for 2014 and that's it.
WJChris is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.