Quadra Drive issue or normal for wj? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Quadra Drive issue or normal for wj?

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Unread 01-24-2014, 09:03 AM   #1
nickmills77

Quadra Drive issue or normal for wj?

Hello everybody, I'm new to the WJ. I've had a few 96 4.0 zj's with the selec-trac, but this time around I wanted something with a little more power and comfort so I bought a 99 wj 4.7 with Quadra-Drive.. I live in pa and get quite a mixed variety of weather and figured a 4x4 system that engaged itself would be convenient... anyways back to topic, the issue im having is that when I make tight turns left or right my wj feels like my zj did when I forgot to take it out of 4 wheel part-time on dry pavement.. like its in 4wheel all the time?? I also noticed a slight whine from the front while at highway speeds when I let my foot off the pedal, sounds and feels like im locked into 4wheel.. ive checked my tires, all same size with same air pressure and even tread... any advice is appreciated

nickmills77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2014, 09:34 AM   #2
EmersonHart13

Have you checked the transfercase fluid?

http://www.wjjeeps.com/tcases.htm

http://www.wjjeeps.com/service/maintenance_wj.htm

It is supposed to be changed every 30k miles.
EmersonHart13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2014, 09:59 AM   #3
ezflip
Theme Park Dinosaur Head

2002 WJ 

Change your diff fluid and add the proper amount of mopar friction modifier. That feeling is your vari-locs kicking in.

Sent from inside my dinosoar head.