pumpkin juice - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > pumpkin juice

The ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! BroughRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits WJ Modular Recovery & Bull Bar Relocation Packages

Unread 10-29-2003, 03:44 PM   #1
99flajeep

pumpkin juice

Newbie here. First post. I'm getting ready to go through all the leaky seals under my 99 Grand cherokee Laredo. Not sure what fluid to put in the front and rear diff's. My Jeep dealer's parts guy sold me the synthetic SAE 75W-140 after he went back and asked somebody. I assume it was a tech. He charged me like $24 quart! Outrageous! I'm sure I can get it cheaper somewhere else, so I'll probably return it. Anyway, I get home, and looking in my Chrysler service manual I see these guidelines:
1) The lubricant should have MIL-L-2105C and API GL 5 quality specifications.
2) Lubricant is a thermally stable SAE 80W-90 gear lubricant.
3) Lubricant for axles intended for heavy- duty or trailer tow use is SAE 75W-140 synthetic gear lubricant.