Oil Pressure Switch Location 4.7L V8 2001 Grand Cherokee - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 06:36 AM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Oil Pressure Switch Location 4.7L V8 2001 Grand Cherokee

Hey Everyone,

New to the forum and found some helpful informaiton today on here, so I figured I would join and see if I can contribute.

I do have a current problem with my Oil Pressure Switch and I need to know where it is located. It is a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 4.7L V8.

Anyone know where it is located? Any help would be appreciated.

Thank You!

Eric

eneusiis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 06:44 AM
xjfever
Web Wheeler
 
xjfever's Avatar
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: north Ga.
Posts: 14,216
Just above the oil filter.

  1. '95 XJ country edition, 4" coils/3/4" spacers, HD leafs with extra main added in, Ironman adjustable control arms, rough country shackles, aussie locker, JK rubicon shocks, 35" mudder's, soft 8's, cobra cb
  2. Sold'99 WJ limited, 4.7L, 3" IRO lift. Bilstein shocks, JK rubicon wheels, 255/70/17's, carolina driveshaft, IRO adjustable control arms, IRO adjustable A-arm
  3. Sold '00 TJ, 4" lift, rusty's adjustable control arms, skyjacker shocks, rock krawler adj. trac-bar,rugged ridge SYE and RE driveshaft, soft 8's, 35" mud king xt's,XJ HP D30 w/aussie locker, 4:88 yukon gears, hella 500's, rock crusher diff covers
4. 04 Dodge ram 1500 quadcab, yes, it has a hemi.
5. '08 BMW X3, Mods in progress.
xjfever is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 07:23 AM
hxcjohnny
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 563
yea, just above the oil filter. It's reachable from top or bottom.

02 WJ Overland
hxcjohnny is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Thanks for the informaiton everyone, greatly appreciated. Being this is my first switch being replaced, should I also pull and drain the oil at the same time and replace it all and start fresh with a new switch even though the oil is about 1,000 miles old?

Thanks,

Eric
eneusiis is offline  
post #5 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 08:14 AM
xjfever
Web Wheeler
 
xjfever's Avatar
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: north Ga.
Posts: 14,216
I would just replace the sending unit and leave the oil.

  1. '95 XJ country edition, 4" coils/3/4" spacers, HD leafs with extra main added in, Ironman adjustable control arms, rough country shackles, aussie locker, JK rubicon shocks, 35" mudder's, soft 8's, cobra cb
  2. Sold'99 WJ limited, 4.7L, 3" IRO lift. Bilstein shocks, JK rubicon wheels, 255/70/17's, carolina driveshaft, IRO adjustable control arms, IRO adjustable A-arm
  3. Sold '00 TJ, 4" lift, rusty's adjustable control arms, skyjacker shocks, rock krawler adj. trac-bar,rugged ridge SYE and RE driveshaft, soft 8's, 35" mud king xt's,XJ HP D30 w/aussie locker, 4:88 yukon gears, hella 500's, rock crusher diff covers
4. 04 Dodge ram 1500 quadcab, yes, it has a hemi.
5. '08 BMW X3, Mods in progress.
xjfever is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 08:39 AM
99WJNM
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Lunas,NM
Posts: 273
x2 on leaving the oil seems pointless to waste semi-new oil easy repair. and welcome to JF
99WJNM is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 09:10 AM
Bubba3200
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NC Mountains
Posts: 948
It is easier if you take the oil filter off. Just get a qt of oil and a new filter. You will only loose the oil in the filter.
Bubba3200 is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 09:53 AM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Thanks everyone, I am off to the store and will report back the events of my knuckle busting.
eneusiis is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 10:00 AM
nlynd1978
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mchenry county, Illinois
Posts: 633
Get a mopar sensor from the dealer. Autozones and Advance'ed dont work right.

06 Commander Limited,4.7,130k
01 GC Limited,QD-II,4.0,236k-sold
99 GC Laredo,QT-II,4.7,96k-Sold
nlynd1978 is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 10:15 AM
xjfever
Web Wheeler
 
xjfever's Avatar
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: north Ga.
Posts: 14,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlynd1978 View Post
Get a mopar sensor from the dealer. Autozones and Advance'ed dont work right.
X2, I agree completely.

  1. '95 XJ country edition, 4" coils/3/4" spacers, HD leafs with extra main added in, Ironman adjustable control arms, rough country shackles, aussie locker, JK rubicon shocks, 35" mudder's, soft 8's, cobra cb
  2. Sold'99 WJ limited, 4.7L, 3" IRO lift. Bilstein shocks, JK rubicon wheels, 255/70/17's, carolina driveshaft, IRO adjustable control arms, IRO adjustable A-arm
  3. Sold '00 TJ, 4" lift, rusty's adjustable control arms, skyjacker shocks, rock krawler adj. trac-bar,rugged ridge SYE and RE driveshaft, soft 8's, 35" mud king xt's,XJ HP D30 w/aussie locker, 4:88 yukon gears, hella 500's, rock crusher diff covers
4. 04 Dodge ram 1500 quadcab, yes, it has a hemi.
5. '08 BMW X3, Mods in progress.
xjfever is offline  
post #11 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Does this take a "special" socket other than standard (Metric & SEA) Deep sockets?

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 3.7L
eneusiis is offline  
post #12 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Exclamation

So quick update, had to order the part overnight, so I thought I would get a head start and pull off the filter and assess the situation.

Jump back three weeks, I normally always do my own oil changes, however at the time, I was out of town 500 miles over due and pulled into a Penzoil Oil Change. Get the oil changed and now present day having oil pressure issues everything points to the Oil Pressure Switch.

So present time now, as I am looking up at the oil filter and all you hear from a mile in any direction is me SCREAMING "THOSE F*&%^$% IDIOTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They put the INCORRECT oil filter. I mean this thing plane as day does not even look like it should fit, it is smaller and taller than what should be on there.

Needless to say that is probably what was causing the issue, but I will still replace the switch to be safe.

ALWAYS CHANGE YOUR OWN OIL IN MY OPINION.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 3.7L
eneusiis is offline  
post #13 of 32 Old 01-10-2011, 09:25 PM
nlynd1978
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mchenry county, Illinois
Posts: 633
are you sure its the incorrect filter? i have heard there is a secondary filter for our jeeps that is a different size. i have read about it here and there. but it works just fine.

06 Commander Limited,4.7,130k
01 GC Limited,QD-II,4.0,236k-sold
99 GC Laredo,QT-II,4.7,96k-Sold
nlynd1978 is offline  
post #14 of 32 Old 01-11-2011, 05:49 AM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlynd1978 View Post
are you sure its the incorrect filter? i have heard there is a secondary filter for our jeeps that is a different size. i have read about it here and there. but it works just fine.

I have never seen in any referrence book or parts store another option for a different size filter or heard of that so I cannot comment. I have been changing the oil on this vehicle for 9 years and never once had a different filter or heard that. I will have to call the dealership to find out before I rip this manager a new one.

Can anyone confirm this for my vehicle? 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 4.7L V8.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 3.7L
eneusiis is offline  
post #15 of 32 Old 01-14-2011, 05:50 AM Thread Starter
eneusiis
Registered User
2008 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nlynd1978 View Post
Get a mopar sensor from the dealer. Autozones and Advance'ed dont work right.

Wow, I wish I would have read this one before I had already put one the cheap version from Napa. Which then made my gauge read backwards....

You are completely correct on this one nlynd1978. I ended up doing the job twice and had to go to the dealer and buy the Mopar sensor and it works like new.

Thank you to everyone for your responses, you made the job easy and a cheap fix for me.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 3.7L
eneusiis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
2004 Grand Cherokee - PCM Location? mofeen WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 07-26-2010 09:26 AM
I need HELP with my 2001 Grand Cherokee!!! Brittnie WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 07-21-2010 10:07 AM
Looking to buy a 2001 Grand Cherokee 4x4 SHUG WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 05-14-2010 06:47 PM
2001 Grand Cherokee Lerado hlingar WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 3 05-14-2010 01:11 PM
Any opinions on 2001 3.1 TD Grand Cherokee? Case WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 03-22-2002 06:21 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome