post #1 of Old 03-20-2011, 06:38 AM Thread Starter
kinnell
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orangeburg
Posts: 2
Oil pressure switch

I have a bad oil pressure switch and need to replace it. Of the replacement parts listed at O'Reilly's, one comes with a gauge and one doesn't (or at least doesn't mention it). Do I need to replace the gauge as well as the switch or will the replacement switch work with the gauge I have in the dash already?

kinnell is offline  
post #2 of Old 03-20-2011, 07:08 AM
wj0313
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: akron
Posts: 130
The switch will work with your gauge
wj0313 is offline  
post #3 of Old 03-20-2011, 07:13 AM
405bp
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: hudson valley
Posts: 30
to my knowledge the oil pressure switch for the gauge is a dealer item the after market ones from the auto part stores is for the idiot lite type.
405bp is offline  
post #4 of Old 03-20-2011, 07:27 AM
nickblack
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bridgewater
Posts: 739
If you are talking about the oil pressure sending unit switch, after market one works fine.
nickblack is offline  
post #5 of Old 03-20-2011, 08:47 AM Thread Starter
kinnell
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orangeburg
Posts: 2
Thanks. I was hoping I wouldn't have to take apart the dash. Another question. The Master Pro Ignition model is 82.99 while the BWD model is 42.99. Is the Master Pro just that much better or is the price because it's an OE part?
kinnell is offline  
post #6 of Old 03-20-2011, 09:36 AM
nickblack
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bridgewater
Posts: 739
The Mopar one is also $43 and would trust that one better than BWD.
nickblack is offline  
post #7 of Old 03-20-2011, 12:57 PM
4jeepers
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lancaster, CA USA
Posts: 375
Talking

25 Bucks @ Rock Auto Parts. By the way with gauge means that it is for a vehicle with a gauge and not an idiot light! Just replaced mine, works fine!
4jeepers is offline  
post #8 of Old 03-20-2011, 02:00 PM
myjeeplovesmud
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madison
Posts: 3,240
i wouldn't ever use a NON-MOPAR sensor on a Mopar Vehicle... it might work for a month or two, but mopars don't seem to like them... spend the money, and have some piece of mind

2004 WJ Limited 4.7 H.O
K&N FIPK - Magnaflow Exhaust
17" XD Series Spy Rims- Custom Painted
ZONE 4" Lift With 32" Duratracs
Hella Lighting - Rola Rack - KOR 3/4 Spacers
IRO Sliders - Rusty's Hooks - Cobra CB

MY BUILD THREAD
BAD TO THE BONE ZONE


November 2010 GCOTM
myjeeplovesmud is offline  
post #9 of Old 12-20-2011, 08:38 PM
bvannada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: West Plains
Posts: 1
Question about oil pressure switch

Can a switch thats for a dummy light be used on a guage setup.
bvannada is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure Switch Location 4.7L V8 2001 Grand Cherokee eneusiis WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 31 12-22-2014 06:59 AM
oil pressure? devildg84 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 18 11-08-2010 09:35 AM
Zero Oil Pressure Gio314 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 09-26-2010 09:03 PM
Oil Pressure Jason_alex WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 20 07-22-2010 11:15 PM
WJ 4.7L low oil pressure Tylerstc WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 5 03-11-2010 08:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome