OEM or aftermarket Crankshaft Position Sensor? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 10:19 AM Thread Starter
BigBadDad
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fincastle, Va
Posts: 18
Question OEM or aftermarket Crankshaft Position Sensor?

I'm still struggling with this problem on our 2000GC/4.0. I am thinking of letting a local garage tackle it for me. they want to install an OEM part from the dealer. Said the aftermarket ones available at the parts stores are no good and will not warranty them. Any body else had trouble with aftermarket sensors? (Quite a bit of dollar difference)

BigBadDad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 10:55 AM
WiCkeDuDe
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,178
Only use a OEM sensor. You will save yourself headaches.
WiCkeDuDe is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
BigBadDad
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fincastle, Va
Posts: 18
OK, but what is the difference? The ones Advance auto sells have a two year warranty, and labor is included if done at an Auto Repair shop. What is the warranty on the OEM Mopar part, which is what failed in the first place?
(Just wanting answers from those with experience. Thanks for the help. Things are really tight right now and a $300 repair is NOT in the family budget!)
BTTT
BigBadDad is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 05:56 PM
ras2001wj
Registered User
 
ras2001wj's Avatar
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Olmsted, Ohio
Posts: 1,923
The aftermarket sensors and jeeps just don't get along. You will see many, many threads where aftermarket sensors have failed within the first month or have made problems worse.


I had my transmission done a few months back, and because of periodic problems (once every few months, it would have trouble starting), I went ahead and had the mechanic put in a new Duralast sensor, and the problem started happening every start, he couldn't even keep it running), so he put the OEM one off the used transmission in and it has worked fine ever since. (knock on wood)

Rick

2001 WJ Laredo 4.0
2" BB
245/75R16


Ron Paul
2012
"Freedoms Popular"
ras2001wj is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 06:25 PM
WiCkeDuDe
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,178
OEM sensors have better tolerances and should be used on Jeeps for critical sensors like a CKPS or oxygen sensor, they save alot of hassles over cheaper and less accurate sensors. You can try it of course, but there are alot of threads with strange problems. From personal experience I would say only use a factory Mopar CKPS.
WiCkeDuDe is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 08-30-2010, 07:51 PM
TJSWJ
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Olmsted Falls
Posts: 2,271
oem or bust! ive used them all Autozone, Federated, O-rileys, every one ive installed on customers cars. On my jeep its OEM only because of problems ive seen with aftermarket. I had a brand new duralast one be bad right out of the box.
TJSWJ is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 10-31-2012, 03:59 PM
OnTheFence
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 430
When you say OEM, are you saying just buy from dealer, or is there a certain brand that is OEM for a given sensor?
OnTheFence is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 10-31-2012, 07:42 PM
mycreativename
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Amherst
Posts: 2,175
I currently have an aftermarket one in my Jeep. It's been working just fine for a year now.

99' WJ, 2.5" Rusty's, Bilstein 5100's, JKS TrackBar, Moog SuperTrailBoss
"With enough fabbing, time & $, it's certainly possible.
That being said, it's like boinkin' your sister...just because you can, doesn't mean you should." - Double E
mycreativename is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 11-01-2012, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
BigBadDad
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fincastle, Va
Posts: 18
I am the OP on this topic. I installed an aftermarket from Advance Auto, and it has been fine ever since! I did get aggravated and "cheated" on the installation. I cut a hole through the driver floorboard to make it easier to access. Gotta be careful, there is either a fuel line or brake line right there that you got to avoid! (I forgot which one it is now)
BigBadDad is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 11-01-2012, 03:03 PM
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder
Posts: 1,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheFence
When you say OEM, are you saying just buy from dealer, or is there a certain brand that is OEM for a given sensor?
Mopar is the OEM brand for jeeps, there are a lot of websites sell Mopar parts.
Jrboarder27 is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 12-22-2013, 10:18 AM
FordExplorer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Greenville
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by ras2001wj View Post
The aftermarket sensors and jeeps just don't get along. You will see many, many threads where aftermarket sensors have failed within the first month or have made problems worse.


I had my transmission done a few months back, and because of periodic problems (once every few months, it would have trouble starting), I went ahead and had the mechanic put in a new Duralast sensor, and the problem started happening every start, he couldn't even keep it running), so he put the OEM one off the used transmission in and it has worked fine ever since. (knock on wood)
what sensor was that? speed sensor on the transmission?
FordExplorer is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 12-22-2013, 11:19 AM
Ravie
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Topeka
Posts: 1,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordExplorer View Post
what sensor was that? speed sensor on the transmission?
The crankshaft position sensor reads the flywheel and it is mounted on the bellhousing of the transmission rather than the engine.

1999 WJ - Over 10k on the 4.0 rebuild. FB/BDS 2" lift (2.5") w/Bilstein 5125's. General Class Ham...KC0LUA
Burlbook48 sez "Nothing moves a project along faster than cubic dollars." Certified Thread Killer.
Ravie is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-25-2014, 12:41 PM
93zjer
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Humboldt
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrboarder27 View Post
Mopar is the OEM brand for jeeps, there are a lot of websites sell Mopar parts.
Does mopar actually manufacture their own parts? I believe someone else makes the parts for them?
93zjer is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-25-2014, 02:02 PM
swkenobi
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 151
Use the OEM, they work and are not that much more expensive.

2003 Grand Cherokee Limited - Mostly Stock
swkenobi is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-25-2014, 04:26 PM
93zjer
Registered User
1993 ZJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Humboldt
Posts: 533
The question is, what is OEM?
It seems that Delphi made the OEM CPS for MOPAR?
Not that much more expensive is very relative. Im a college student who trains in multiple martial arts. Training and competitions are expensive.
If I can save $20 and still get OEM that makes a difference for my gf and I.
93zjer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
How do you get at a 4.7L 99 JeepGCL crankshaft position sensor SierraNev WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 19 07-03-2016 06:37 PM
4.7 Wacky Idle fixed with new Throttle Position Sensor riverview6067 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 98 09-29-2015 02:11 PM
WJ Throttle Position Sensor Replacement spreadhead14 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 6 06-02-2010 05:02 PM
99 WJ 4.7L where is the cam position sensor cj847 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 02-01-2009 04:50 PM
Replacing a Throttle position sensor? Grazsrootz WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 08-07-2007 01:17 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome