Noise from a Bearing at the back - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-17-2012, 08:34 PM Thread Starter
Zx9r-Driver

Noise from a Bearing at the back

Hi,

I just bought my Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited (2000) today. But when I'm driving around 80km/h I can hear a noise from a bearing in the back of the car. I head this is a common problem of the Jeep. The noise isn't very loud but it's a little bit annoying.
The noise is only when I'm driving around 80km/h. When I'm in the city, I can't hear anything.
Should I go to a garage and let them change the bearings or is that noise normal? Because they'll always say "yes you have to change the bearings" and charge you a lot of money for that.
But I might have to say that I'm planning to go on a big trip, so its important that everything is fine.

(my mother tongue is German and I'm still learning English so I'm sorry for the grammar)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 03-17-2012, 08:35 PM
pinky2252s
2001 WJ 

What kind of noise? The bearings shoudnt make any noise. So if youre hearing noise, then there is most likely a problem.

Is it broken?

Colorado Jeep Club Member #2252
2001 Laredo, 2004 Special Edition
post #3 of 9 Old 03-17-2012, 08:38 PM
survivor
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
i would jack up rear and use choke on ur front tires to prevent rolling. and grab two jack stands and place it on the axle and have someone in the jeep and put 1st gear and let it spinning. ( your rear wheel is up the air) and u can go underneath and listen it. Maybe it will help you?> if your not a mechanic. then i would take it to the shops to get few options then go from there? Hope this helps.

Your english (grammars) is alright!! smiles.

post #4 of 9 Old 03-17-2012, 08:40 PM
survivor
1992 YJ Wrangler 

Garage
IF it make a noise. then you have a carrier bearing/ pinion bearing to be replace asap. ( forgot to add)

I agreed with pinky2252s comments.
post #5 of 9 Old 03-18-2012, 01:35 AM Thread Starter